Become Aware.

25 Mar

I went to my first early morning meditation class today at Asheville Community Yoga. Even though it was raining most of the day, it was nice to be leaving campus before much of the campus was awake. I love the quiet that comes with the rain in the mountains, and I’m happy I got to experience it “by myself” this morning. There were only me and 3 other people at ACY for the early morning meditation (not including Michael, the instructor), which was actually kind of nice. For the first part of the class, we spent time “waking up our bodies” so that when we sat for meditation we’d be awake and focused. The beginning exercises felt good, especially the stretches and the movements that allowed us to make our bodies feel as comfortable as possible (like massaging our neck and back).

We then sat down, and we began by counting our breaths. We’d inhale and count 1-2-3 and then count again on the exhale. After about 5 or 6 breaths this way, Michael rang a bell in order to signal the beginning of our meditation. Michael said that we’d sit and meditate for 20 minutes, and then the ringing of the bell would indicate the end of the meditation. Michael reminded us throughout to concentrate on our breath when we started to get lost/when our mind began to wander. In the beginning, I thought that 20 minutes of sitting and breathing would feel like forever. However, it wasn’t as hard as I thought. Though I did have to return to counting my breaths a good bit, the experience was quite eye-opening.

Through the simple act of sitting and breathing in and out, I became more aware of myself….more aware of my body…and more aware of the world around me. It was a great way to start my morning, especially since I felt refreshed and prepared to begin my day of studying and homework. I can’t wait to go back in a week!

I hope you all have had a happy Sunday.

15 Responses to “Become Aware.”

  1. fivereflections March 25, 2012 at 5:16 pm #

    sounds great

    david in Maine USA

  2. Alethea Eason March 25, 2012 at 5:19 pm #

    Sounds just like what I need to do. I love your comments about the rain.

  3. Ginger March 25, 2012 at 5:26 pm #

    This sounds like the perfect way to start a Sunday! I meditate at home a bit but my mind does wander quite a bit. Being in a group sounds like it would be very beneficial, I’m glad you enjoyed it!

    • ameliaclaire92 March 25, 2012 at 5:40 pm #

      Yes, being in a group definitely is beneficial. 🙂

  4. Carrie March 25, 2012 at 5:34 pm #

    What a wonderful way to describe the practice of breathing meditation and yoga. Thank you for sharing. Inspires me as a new week begins.

    • ameliaclaire92 March 25, 2012 at 5:41 pm #

      You’re welcome. Glad I could brighten your coming week. 🙂

  5. yogikarenk March 25, 2012 at 7:54 pm #

    Thanks for sharing. I teach meditation and it’s good to hear your perspective!
    I’m happy for you : )

    • ameliaclaire92 March 25, 2012 at 8:14 pm #

      Oh, you’re welcome. And thanks! I can’t wait to go back. 🙂

  6. hugtrip March 25, 2012 at 9:52 pm #

    Just started yoga this year, and have found myself having the most trouble focusing on my breath. Glad to hear I’m not the only one who finds this takes some practice! When I do manage, though, it’s an amazing experience. Somehow by letting the thoughts go, I find myself with clearer realizations and more connectedness to my body.

  7. desiryan March 25, 2012 at 11:16 pm #

    meditation is great. 🙂

  8. Errign March 26, 2012 at 11:06 am #

    I really LOVE that you go to ACY now!

  9. Mind Margins March 27, 2012 at 12:36 am #

    I try to start every day with yoga and then meditation. Kudos to you for starting out at 20 minutes! I love the way yoga makes me feel, and focusing on my breathing really helps keep me centered and more balanced during the day. So nice to see how much you enjoyed your experience.

  10. belasbrightideas March 27, 2012 at 3:12 pm #

    Yes, the BREATH! When I get wrapped up in my own stuff and start shutting down, I am reminded to BREATHE. Usually I’ll sally off on my bike, because sitting seems harder. Sometimes sitting is what is required, though, if you know what I mean.

Leave a Reply

