Friday’s Bargain Book Finds.

24 Mar

Yesterday I went to one of my favorite used bookstores here in Asheville, Mr. K’s Used Books. I had three books that I had been wanting to trade, and I also wanted to look around since I had a list of books written down that I had been wanting to read. Though I didn’t find any of the books I had been wanting to read, I found the bargain section in the back of the store, in which each book was only one dollar.

I got 7 books for 7 dollars, which were technically “free” since I got $7.35 in trade credit for the 3 books I had brought in.

  1. Secrets She Left Behind by Diane Chamberlain-I’m excited to read this one in particular because Diane Chamberlain is one of my favorite authors (she’s a psychotherapist turned author), and she pulls in a lot of her psychotherapy concepts into her novels, which I love.
  2. How To Be Lost by Amanda Eyre Ward
  3. More Than You Know by Beth Gutcheon
  4. A Soft Place To Land by Susan Rebecca White
  5. Beyond The Waves by Elizabeth Marek
  6. Saving Max by Antoinette van Heugten
  7. Lying On The Couch by Irvin D. Yalom

The last 6 listed are novels that sounded interesting when I read the back cover. I can’t wait to dive into them!

Have you come across any great bargain books or just great books recently that you can’t wait to read? 

28 Responses to “Friday’s Bargain Book Finds.”

  1. margiewrites March 24, 2012 at 2:31 pm #

    Love those bargain bins and $1 books! There used to be a huge $1 book store nearby where I live, but it’s gone out of business, sadly. We get our $1 fix from the library for now…

    • ameliaclaire92 March 24, 2012 at 2:48 pm #

      I was excited when I found the bargain books section in the used bookstore that I frequent. I didn’t expect there to be one since most of the books are cheap anyway (between 3 and 4 dollars), but it was so fun to see that $1 tag! 🙂

  2. Gina Marie Cannistraro March 24, 2012 at 2:39 pm #

    You have a great stack of books, there! I have a bad habit of buying more books than I have time to read, so I have an entire bookshelf dedicated to the stuff I haven’t gotten to yet.

    • ameliaclaire92 March 24, 2012 at 2:49 pm #

      Normally, I don’t have that problem. However, now that I live in a place with so many great used bookstores, I’ve got piles and piles of books that I have yet to read.

  3. melissacuevas March 24, 2012 at 2:51 pm #

    Just got back from our local St Vincent de Paul, which is where I get my cheap reads, and it was a banner day for books! First is some sort of past meets present historical mystery murder called “The Death Pit” by Tony Strong. Not sure here, but it looked interesting. Also picked up a high fantasy trilogy “The Coldfire Trilogy” all three parts, by CS Friedman. And lastly, all five parts of the Horus Heresy series for Warhammer 40k. Nine books for a hefty 6.75. (Paperbacks are .75 each usually, hardcovers 1.25) Can’t wait to sit in the bathtub and read! Oh, damn, TMI.

    • ameliaclaire92 March 24, 2012 at 2:56 pm #

      Wow! You got yourself quite a hall! And haha, I feel like one of the greatest parts about reading books is having the ability to get lost in a book no matter where you are. Whether I’m sitting outside on the campus quad, in the library or just needing to kill time somewhere, books are a wonderful safe haven.

  4. Cassie March 24, 2012 at 3:26 pm #

    Go you for getting such a sale! I went to that bookstore when I was in Asheville and I think there was a cat there on the desk. That may have been a different one though. I loved all of the stores – they all smelled like good books. I really just want one of those Eat. Sleep. Read shirts from the big independent bookstore in Asheville though. : )

    • ameliaclaire92 March 24, 2012 at 3:35 pm #

      There are so many used bookstores in Asheville, so I’m not sure if the one you went to was Mr. K’s or not. I want an Eat. Sleep. Read shirt from Malaprops as well. I just haven’t gotten around to getting one. 🙂

      • Cassie March 24, 2012 at 3:37 pm #

        It took all that I had to put it down and I was like….don’t do it – it’s 20 bucks. I did get a few really awesome postcards though and that was well worth it (one was covered in books). Wish I knew you were from there before this – we could have got coffee. I’m sure I’ll be back though, fingers crossed!

      • ameliaclaire92 March 24, 2012 at 3:39 pm #

        Yeah that have such a variety of “bookish” things. It’s great! And yes, you should definitely come back. We could grab coffee, and I could introduce you to some of my favorite restaurants downtown. Are you a fan of spicy food? 🙂

      • Cassie March 24, 2012 at 3:40 pm #

        Oh goodness, you have no idea. I’m like a mexican/thai food freak. Now I have even more of a reason to just get in my car. Eeee, can’t wait. I’ll have to let you know. I want to go hiking up on the Blueridge over the summer sometime so hopefully then! YUM! Books and food! YAY

      • ameliaclaire92 March 24, 2012 at 3:42 pm #

        Oh gosh, excitement! I have a favorite Indian restaurant here that I love that I’ll have to show you. And yes, you should keep me posted. I’ll be in Ireland for 4 weeks over the summer, but we could definitely have a weekend of books, food, coffee, parkway fun! 🙂

      • Cassie March 24, 2012 at 3:46 pm #

        Okay, hold it right there – Ireland for four weeks. We need to have a serious penpalship then – that’s awesome! I’m so jealous right now. When are you going and what for? I’m so excited for you!

      • ameliaclaire92 March 24, 2012 at 3:49 pm #

        Ha, yes for penpalship! 🙂 I’m going June 25th through July 26th with a study aproad program. I’ll be studying in Galway, Ireland. They have a summer school in Irish Studies program, and I’ll be taking Irish Literature and Galeic Culture (I hope!) PS-Do you have Facebook? 🙂

      • Cassie March 24, 2012 at 3:51 pm #

        That sounds awesome. I didn’t study abroad in college so I’m always excited for people who do because I feel like I missed out on that. And Ireland would have definitely been my top of places. Are you going to travel throughout Europe while you’re there – that’s just awesome.

        I don’t have facebook. I have twitter – if you have that. Username: casssiiieeeeee and pinterest…and that’s it. I deleted my facebook last February for Lent and it kind of just stuck (I spent way too much time on facebook, bleh).

      • ameliaclaire92 March 24, 2012 at 3:56 pm #

        Yes, I’m hoping to travel throuh Europe with my mom and the end of my study abroad program in Ireland. I’ve got a blog friend in Northern Ireland that I’m hoping to visit after my program as well. 🙂
        I don’t get on twitter much, so WordPress will do. We’ll keep in touch over the coming months and hopefully try and find a time to hang out in Asheville. 🙂

      • Cassie March 24, 2012 at 4:06 pm #

        Yes – just email me – clmannes@gmail.com

        We’ll figure it out. I’m really great at writing letters, pretty poor at keeping up otherwise, but whatever works. We’ll figure it out – I’m excited. Can’t wait.

      • ameliaclaire92 March 24, 2012 at 4:08 pm #

        I’m excited too! 🙂

  5. rmangena March 24, 2012 at 3:32 pm #

    Hw long w’d it take you to finish all these very promising reads?

    • ameliaclaire92 March 24, 2012 at 3:36 pm #

      If I had tons of free time, probably not long. However, I probably won’t get to them until the spring semester is over at the end of April.

  6. RedheadCarol March 24, 2012 at 4:07 pm #

    I always go to the bargain books section first. I love it!

    • ameliaclaire92 March 24, 2012 at 4:08 pm #

      That’s what I need to start doing in the future. 🙂

  7. stephenedwards425 March 24, 2012 at 10:48 pm #

    I’ll be going through Ashville on Monday…I’ll check out the bookstore…never, ever have I regretted buying a book.

    Be encouraged!

  8. truthaboutmornings March 24, 2012 at 11:29 pm #

    Ah, I just love the smell of an old book…and the excitement of new reads…

  9. whenpeopledontcare March 25, 2012 at 5:11 am #

    What we have here is a store called “Booksale”. It’s almost like a bargain store, except that the books have not been used. It’s always on sale and are sold for 50-75% of the original price. It’s my most favorite place to hang out in. There’s just so many great finds! 🙂

  10. oh March 25, 2012 at 11:36 am #

    oh geez, i should not have stopped here. I was on my way outdoors to sweep and rake and stuff but thought I’d stop in at blogworld and found your “like” on my blog and thought I’d stop by to say “hi” and now I see your stack of books…and am suddenly feeling bookish. As in, I could go outdoors and just read. OR, I could re-arrange my current reading pile. Or, I could head to the used bookstore.

    Love the picture. Love hearing about the books.
    Can’t help it. I’m a bookaholic.

Leave a Reply

