Spring Fever And Salem.

21 Mar

Spring has made an appearance here in the Blue Ridges, and I’ve been itching to get out and get some new spring photography done. Due to lots of schoolwork, that hasn’t been possible. However, yesterday two of my friends from high school came to stay with me until tomorrow. They are both seniors in high school, and one of them is most likely coming to UNCA next year, so she’s here to get to know the campus and sit in on classes.

Though I won’t be done with classes today until 4, I’m hoping that the weather will be nice enough for us to get out and take some spring photos. I’d love to be able to get out on the Blue Ridge Parkway for some spring shots, but I’ll see how tired I am once classes are done. Either way, it’s nice to have a bit of Salem here, even if only for a few days.

See, I loved my high school experience (or at least the last two years of it). I went to an all girls boarding school for my junior and senior years of high school, and it was a huge high point in my life. I grew a lot as a person, I made some amazing friends, and I made incredible memories that I still look back on and smile about. Having Olive and Carrie here have brought Salem here, and it’s as familiar as a warm blanket. I’m reminded of the fun times I had while at Salem, and I remember just how strong the bonds of sisterhood truly are. Even though I don’t keep up with too many of my Salem friends, I will always have a place in my heart for the Salem sisters who helped me grow into who I am and those who lifted me up when so many others insisted on keeping me down.

I’m reminded of cookie break, all the Salem traditions (ring banquet, senior vespers, Athletic picnic, etc), and the realization that Salem will always hold a special place in my heart. During Springtime, I think of Salem often. I think of all the pretty blossoms in the trees on campus, of the times that my advising group enjoyed lunch out on the front lawn, walking down to the Fine Arts Center for Glee Club and singing the whole way there, the yummy Moravian sugar cake in Old Salem, and the people I’ll never forget. My friends that are here said that they are ready to be out of Salem, and while I understand the want to graduate and be at college already, I have realized that I long to be back at Salem more than I longed to be there while I was still there. I long for the memories to come rushing back, to fill me up completely and remind me of the time in my life when I began to get more comfortable in my own skin.

2 Responses to “Spring Fever And Salem.”

  1. Kris Kennedy March 21, 2012 at 8:49 am #

    Lovely memories and ponderings…enjoy your day with your friends.

  2. ameliaclaire92 March 22, 2012 at 11:28 am #

    Thanks. And I did. 🙂

Leave a Reply

