The Paperclip Award!

12 Mar

Another award, oh goodie! Thanks to Laura of Cheesecake Summer for giving me the opportunity to accept this award. Laura’s pretty awesome, so all of you should check out her blog!

1. When you were little, what did you want to be when you grew up?

A writer. And though I’ve gone back and forth from then until now, I know I still want to be one. Though I also want to be a counselor, it’d be nice to be a counselor and then write on the side. Then I get the best of both worlds!

2. What is your ultimate favorite place to be?

The Blue Ridge Mountains. Even if I leave for just a short time, I am always so excited when I spot the first glimpse of the Blue Ridges. I’ve always been a mountain person instead of a beach person, and having the opportunity to live in the mountains is so incredible!

3. Name one famous person who inspires you. (Just one!!!)

Jodi Picoult. She’s a New York Times bestselling author, and her books have the power to move me. I’m inspired by her ability to evoke so much emotion just by using words. I only hope that one day I can accomplish the same thing.

4. Tea or Coffee?

Coffee ALL THE WAY! I love it so much! I do love sweet tea (since I’ve grown up in the South, and it’s just so good), but if I had to choose, I’d definitely pick coffee. A medium vanilla latte to be exact! YUM!

5. If you could be any other person for 48 hours, who would you be?

My best friend, Skidmore. She’s so amazing, and she also makes designs and all sorts of other creative stuff. She wants to go into the college apparel business once she’s finishes college, and I’d love to be her for 48 hours (but only if it can with all her talents, ha!). Plus, I’d love to be able to truly call myself a Hokie (she goes to Virginia Tech), if only for 2 days!

6. What is your earliest memory?

That’s really hard. I remember spending hours on my bedroom floor reading The Polka Dot Horse. I remember going to daycare and always getting excited for snack time because they brought out these really yummy lemon cookies, and I also remember the days when I’d sit in the dirt for hours in our backyard making mud pies with my Barbie kitchen. I’m not sure how old I was in those instances, but the latter memory is one that I remember pretty vividly.

7. If you could ask anyone in the world, living or dead, anything, who would you ask, and what would you ask them?

I’d ask Jodi Picoult what it was like for her growing up and what the moment was like when she knew she wanted to be a writer.

8. What is the scariest thing you have ever done?

I think my past was probably the scariest, partly because it’s the mindset I’m in since I’ve been working on my book recently. I think it was still the scariest though. I can’t think of a time when I was more scared. I mean, I knew I would be feeling pain, but I could never be sure of when my legs would decide to spasm…and I could never be sure of when they’d stop either. I really can’t even imagine any other experience more terrifyingly painful.

9. What is your favorite book?

Wow. That’s hard. Here are my favorites by my favorite authors: Harvesting The Heart by Jodi Picoult, The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath, Firefly Lane by Kristin Hannah, and The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger. There are definitely many more favorites, but these are just the ones I thought of off the top of my head. If you haven’t read these, I encourage you to add them to your TBR (to be read) list!

10. Briefly explain one of the weirdest dreams you have ever had.

I actually hardly ever remember any of my dreams. The one I remember specifically is the recurring dream I had during the spans of time I was in and out of the hospital. In the dream, I’d wake up during surgery, but I wouldn’t be able to speak. I’d see the doctors straightening my femurs, I’d see lots of blood, and I’d see the places on my legs that would eventually hold the scars that even the worst sunburn can’t cover up.

11. What one song best describes you? (Feel free to post a link to a YouTube vid)

Best describes me? Hmm…I think I’d have to say “Blackbird” by the Beatles. Though it is a sad song, it emphasizes what I’ve dealt with my entire life: learning how to overcome my disability in order to fully be able to accept who I am and the life that I was given. It’s a song of hope and courage that reminds me that I have the ability to overcome all of this, even if it feels impossible sometimes. It’s also the central concept of the book I’m writing. I’m writing a book about my life in order to be able to reach a point of acceptance within myself. However, if it helps future families that are dealing with CP, then that’s great too.

12. Pen or pencil?

Pencil. I make too many mistakes to use a pen.

13. Is 13 an unlucky number or not?
I’m not really a believer in luck actually.

11 Responses to “The Paperclip Award!”

  1. Laura March 12, 2012 at 8:54 pm #

    Aww thanks for saying I’m awesome!
    I love the mountains too, I grew up in the back country of the Appalachians and where I live now I can’t see the mountains anymore, and it stinks! I like going back to visit though. I have been to Montreat NC and oh my gosh that place is beautiful!

  2. ameliaclaire92 March 13, 2012 at 12:00 am #

    You’re welcome. It’s so true!
    And aww that sucks that you don’t have a mountain view. It may just mean that you need to make a road trip down to Asheville to enjoy one! 🙂

  3. Nowan Zen March 13, 2012 at 9:35 am #

    You have much to offer this world, as you’ve revealed. Bright, articulate, passionate, creative, and not afraid to be afraid.

    Asheville is beautiful. Passed through there going to and from college and always had to stop and stay for a bit.

    • ameliaclaire92 March 13, 2012 at 10:27 am #

      Thank you so much for your support!

      • Nowan Zen March 13, 2012 at 10:47 am #

        Never doubt you have a place in this world that will make a difference. Reaching one single person makes a difference. Thank you for not being afraid to reach!

  4. belasbrightideas March 13, 2012 at 10:23 pm #

    Love Blackbird. And so very sorry for all the pain you experienced while young. Were those operations successful?
    Sending you warm thoughts.

    • ameliaclaire92 March 13, 2012 at 10:28 pm #

      They were successful in the sense that they made me more independent, but ultimately, that was the goal…figuring out what had to be done in order for me to be as independent as possible. In my opinion, it was successful. I know of kids with CP who may never walk. However, that is not due to specific surgeries they did or did not have. It’s due to the severity of their CP. In my case, my CP isn’t necessarily “severe.” It does limit me, but I’ve grown acustomed to the limitations.

      • belasbrightideas March 13, 2012 at 10:38 pm #

        I guess that’s what is called a mixed blessing. So happy you can walk and that CP hasn’t limited you in the way I’ve seen it limit certain people. You must have a strong spirit, my dear.

      • ameliaclaire92 March 13, 2012 at 10:40 pm #

        I like to think I do, but what I’ve realized lately is that the memior that I’m currently working on will test my spirit to its limit. Though it’s exciting time, it’s also scary, and some days it just hurts too much. But alas, I must march on if I want to be able to reach a point where I am able to accept myself.

  5. Errign March 14, 2012 at 7:49 pm #

    Totally “borrowing” these questions for a post 🙂

Leave a Reply

