Let’s NOT Spring Forward.

11 Mar

Even though Spring Forward didn’t affect me much this morning, I still hate the concept of losing an hour of sleep. I mean, really?! What sick and twisted person decided to take away an hour on sleep….applying to everyone else (ya know, including new mothers, sick people and yes, college students!) Totally not cool.

At 2am this morning, Americans turned their clocks ahead one hour in order to mark the beginning of Daylight Savings Time. Clocks are set ahead an hour so that the sun will rise and set later in the day. According to infoplease.com, the federal law that established “daylight time” in the United States does not require any area to observe daylight savings time. But if a state chooses to observe DST, it must follow the starting and ending dates set by the law. Interestingly enough, Arizona and Hawaii are the only 2 states in the United States that do not observe DST.

Aside from the facts, I’d rather not Spring Forward. Can’t we just keep falling back? That would seriously be GREAT. What’s funny is that even when we fall back, it takes me a long time to get used to the time change. I guess that’s a plus for Hawaii and Arizona though…they never have to attempt to adjust. It’s just so aggravating. I’ll either wake up thinking it’s 7 and it’ll be 8, or I’ll wake up thinking it’s 7 and it’s 6. Bleh. I’d much rather have the time be earlier rather than later (in terms of waking up in the morning), but if given the choice I’d prefer to just opt out. I’m wondering how long it’s going to take me to adjust to DST this year. I hope it’s not long because I’ve got classes and work starting back tomorrow. I can’t be walking around in a sleepy haze. I need to be alert and ready to go.

Either way, change happens, and we’ve just got to move with it. But messing with people’s sleep is just wrong. Don’t you agree?

10 Responses to “Let’s NOT Spring Forward.”

  1. thisismyeverest March 11, 2012 at 7:59 pm #

    Totally agree. I love “falling back”–it’s my favorite day of the year, even if it means the sun setting so early that it’s dark by the time I leave work.

  2. Laura March 11, 2012 at 8:10 pm #

    It’s definitely a cruel joke! I have always loved falling back though and getting more sleep!

  3. akimynation March 12, 2012 at 7:36 am #

    totally agree! here in the Philippines we have a saying that goes “Maglaro ka sa lasing, huwag lang sa bagong gising” It means to play jokes on someone whos drunk just not someone who just woke up or was sleeping.

    • ameliaclaire92 March 12, 2012 at 10:04 am #

      What a funny saying. It certainly fits though. I’m not a fan of people who mess with my sleep, haha!

  4. lattegirl March 12, 2012 at 6:44 pm #

    ha ha – your post made my day. I like my sleep so I agree – must be a cruel joke lol. Havent gone through it yet here but its drawing closer.

  5. Planning 2 Learn March 12, 2012 at 9:08 pm #

    I’ll sign up! I agree ..no spring forward only fall back!

  6. belasbrightideas March 13, 2012 at 11:59 pm #

    We don’t change times here in Hawaii, which is a plus. When I lived in Maine however, after essentially 6 months of winter, ANYthing promising more light was pretty attractive 😉

    • ameliaclaire92 March 14, 2012 at 12:14 am #

      Oh I bet. And I bet it’s nice to not have to deal with a time change where you are. 🙂

  7. Ginger March 14, 2012 at 7:51 pm #

    Daylight savings time is terrible! I am so happy to read this, I was beginning to wonder if I was the only one who has a hard time!

Leave a Reply

