Book Review: The Midwife’s Confession By Diane Chamberlain.

8 Mar

Yesterday I started The Midwife’s Confession by Diane Chamberlain, and I finished it last night. Yep, it was that good. I became a fan of Diane Chamberlain’s novels this past summer, and she hasn’t failed to disappoint. My favorite by her is Between The Silence, since it was the first novel I read by her and one of the few novels that left me shaky at the end, yet longing to hear more of the story. If you’ve never read anything by Diane Chamberlain, I suggest Between The Silence first.

Here’s the synopsis of The Midwife’s Confession according to dianechamberlain.com:

Dear Anna,
What I have to tell you is difficult to write, but I know it will be far more difficult for you to hear, and I’m so sorry. . .

The unfinished letter is the only clue Tara and Emerson have to the reason behind their close friend Noelle’s suicide.  Everything they knew about Noelle-her calling as a midwife, her passion for causes, her love for her friends and family-described a woman who embraced life.

Yet there was so much they didn’t know.

With the discovery of the letter and its heartbreaking secret, Noelle’s friends begin to uncover the truth about this complex woman who touched each of their lives–and the life of a desperate stranger–with love and betrayal, compassion and deceit.

Told with sensitivity and insight, The Midwife’s Confession will have you turning pages late into the night.

I was reading late in to the night, but only one night since I devoured this in one day. I think my favorite part of this was the way Chamberlain focused on certain characters and not others. Also, even though I’ve gotten pretty good at suspecting certain twists in terms of endings of novels, this book threw me for quite a loop….but a really great loop. I just couldn’t put it down. Though I liked seeing the friendship between Noelle, Tara, and Emerson, I would have liked more depth concerning Tara and Emerson’s friendship rather than just trying to understand their friendship through Noelle’s eyes. There are also other picky things I picked up on…like wanting to be introduced to Anna and Haley earlier in the novel….and getting more details concerning Lily. Though Lily is technically the character that’s “the elephant in the room” for Anna, Bryan and Haley, I longed for more details about Lily herself that would’ve showed the beginning connection between Anna and Bryan. However, despite all that, this was an amazing read, and I highly recommend it to anyone who is a fan of Jodi Picoult. The critics don’t lie when they describe Diane Chamberlain as a Southern Jodi Picoult.

One Response to “Book Review: The Midwife’s Confession By Diane Chamberlain.”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. How The Little Prince End Up Being Happy At The End | Little Price Review « …..troubledblogger's blog - May 20, 2012

    […] Book Review: The Midwife’s Confession By Diane Chamberlain. (lifeintheblueridges.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

