Book Review: Lone Wolf By Jodi Picoult.

7 Mar

On Monday night, I was sad to have finished Jodi Picoult‘s newest book, Lone Wolf. Jodi Picoult is my favorite author, and I got her newest book on Friday as a treat to myself (since I made it through midterms, and it was the beginning of my Spring Break). The bummer with Picoult’s books is that since I love them so much, I get so hooked that I usually finish them within a few days. This read actually took longer than most since I made myself take breaks. There’s something quite sad about the ending of a book, and so I wanted to try to make the experience last a bit longer. I didn’t have much luck. Ah well, better luck next time….maybe.

Here’s the synopsis of Lone Wolf (according to jodipicoult.com):

Edward Warren, 23, has been living in Thailand for five years, a prodigal son who left his family after an irreparable fight with his father, Luke. But he gets a frantic phone call: His dad lies comatose in a NH hospital, gravely injured in the same accident that has also injured his younger sister Cara.

Cara, 17, still holds a grudge against her brother, since his departure led to her parents’ divorce. In the aftermath, she’s lived with her father – an animal conservationist who became famous after living with a wild wolf pack in the Canadian wild. It is impossible for her to reconcile the still, broken man in the hospital bed with her vibrant, dynamic father.

With Luke’s chances for recovery dwindling, Cara wants to wait for a miracle. But Edward wants to terminate life support and donate his father’s organs. Is he motivated by altruism, or revenge? And to what lengths will his sister go to stop him from making an irrevocable decision?

LONE WOLF looks at the intersection between medical science and moral choices. If we can keep people who have no hope for recovery alive artificially, should they also be allowed to die artificially? Does the potential to save someone else’s life with a donated organ balance the act of hastening another’s death? And finally, when a father’s life hangs in the balance, which sibling should get to decide his fate?

Even though I’ve loved all of Picoult’s novels, I feel like this one may be one of my favorites. I love that Picoult chose to include the voice of Luke Warren, which gives the reader an invitation into his world…and into the world of his wolves, who have become more of a family to him that the human family he is also a part of. I never really knew how wolves and wolf packs functioned, so that was really interesting for me to learn. Though in all of Picoult’s novels she shows the different dimensions of what it means to be a family, I love that she varied things up. A daughter who believes her father is the moon in her sky. A son who couldn’t feel anymore distant from his father (but due to reasons that aren’t realized until late in the novel). And a wife who is torn between the love that she used to have for her ex-husband and the love that she’s trying to equally show to her children. I was sad for Lone Wolf to be over, but now I’ll just wait for next March to get here! I highly recommend it though. It’s definitely a page turner that will keep you up late into the night!

2 Responses to “Book Review: Lone Wolf By Jodi Picoult.”

  1. Zishaan 'ZuZu' Shafi March 15, 2012 at 5:17 pm #

    Great review, I can totally relate. With my favourite authros I do the same, read their latest release in a day or two, even though I intend on pacing myself lol. I will check this one out.

Leave a Reply

