Tuesday’s Tunes: Ben Harper.

6 Mar

Even in the face of all that I’ve overcome, there have only been small moments where I’ve viewed myself in a positive light. However, when I look at Grace (a young girl I know who also has CP), she has so much joy and love she’s portraying. She fights so hard, even when things get really tough. She runs head first into life, instead of giving in to the fear or pain. She’s fearless.

This past Thanksgiving, I was introduced to “Fly One Time” by Ben Harper. Here are the lyrics:

Inevitability
It’s pounding at my door
screaming for more
In a world that owes you nothing
you give everything, everything

And now I’m caught in between
What I can’t leave behind
and what I may never find
So fly one time
Fly one time

Standing at the edge of your life
at the edge of our lives
Don’t hold on
There’s no fighting back the years
So hard to unlearn fears

Now you’re caught in between
what you can’t leave behind
and all that you may never find
So fly
Just fly, just fly one time

I see you so clearly, so clearly,
up so high
I see you up so clearly, up so clearly
up so high, so high

Now you’re caught
Now you’re caught in between
what you can’t leave behind
and what you may, what we may never find

So fly, so fly, one time
So clearly, so clearly, so high
Fly one time
Just fly one time
If you fly one, one time

For me, this song is a reminder to go after your dreams, or simply live, as much as you can. The desire to “fly” is within every one of us, but some of us keep our wings tucked while others attempt to soar, even if they know they’ll fall eventually. Though I never know how to react when people say I’m courageous or strong, I see where that assumption comes from. They hear about all I’ve been through, and they’re amazed that I’m as happy or bubbly as I seem to be. But you know what? I’ve met some kids with Down Syndrome, which is a genetic condition that causes delays in mental and physical development, and they are some of the happiest kids I’ve ever met. It amazes me, but at the same time, I understand. It’s so much easier to be happy than to give in to the pain, fear, and hard memories that can lead to unhappiness. So, maybe I am fearless. But if given the chance, wouldn’t you rather fly and fall instead of keeping your wings tucked away and simply never knowing?

3 Responses to “Tuesday’s Tunes: Ben Harper.”

  1. pelianwords March 6, 2012 at 10:46 am #

    Thank you. This was a perfect way to start my day!

  2. Marti MacGibbon March 7, 2012 at 12:32 pm #

    Love this! Very inspiring and uplifting. I look forward to sharing more with you.

Leave a Reply

