Those Lazy, Hazy, Crazy Days…

5 Mar

….of summer. Though it’s not summer, it’s been a lazy day for me. I’m on Spring Break though, so I’m allowed to be lazy right? I think so!

I started off my lazy day by sleeping til noon. Though that may seem insanely late to most of you, it’s pretty typical of most college kids when they come home for breaks. However, I don’t think I’ve slept til noon since last summer, so it’s been a while. I needed the sleep though. Last week before Spring Break I had 3 midterms, a paper, work, and regular classes, so after all of that, I was WIPED! Also, during that week I didn’t get much sleep since I spent so much time studying in the library or going to class or work. Whew, busy busy! It’s been so, so nice to have a break, and I’ve needed it.

Anyway, my lazy day then continued by making black beans and brown rice with green salsa for lunch and watching re-runs of Grey’s Anatomy on Lifetime. Ah, gotta love it! Though black beans and rice was my staple for a while, I haven’t had it as much recently (not including the days that I work at the campus bookstore since I only have 15 minutes to eat). Anyway, it was nice to have it again. It’s a nice comfort food, even though my favorite comfort food is chicken perlo (which is a moist version of chicken and rice that’s incredible! If you’ve never had it, you should definitely give it a try).

After lunch, I curled up on the couch with a blanket and immersed myself in the words of Jodi Picoult’s newest novel, Lone Wolf. As I’ve said before, Jodi Picoult is my favorite author. I’m loving Lone Wolf as much as I have enjoyed all of her other novels. I’m even more amazed by her because in March of 2010, I got to opportunity to hear her speak about her book, House Rules. It was one of the best days I’ve ever had. Getting to hear her speak was the equivalent Bieber-crazed teenager having a front row seat to a Justin Bieber concert. Since my mom and I got to Jodi Picoult’s talk so soon, we got to be in the front row (since the tickets for the event didn’t have assigned seats). I also got House Rules signed by Jodi and asked her to put in one of the comments I enjoyed from her talk. It was: “Writer’s block is for those who have a luxury of time.” It’s something I have to remind myself as a writer, and I just love that my all-time favorite author was able to teach me something so valuable!

9 Responses to “Those Lazy, Hazy, Crazy Days…”

  1. Wondering Wanderer March 5, 2012 at 9:12 pm #

    Spring Break is for…..wait for it…….taking a break. Enjoy it with a good book. Enjoy it with a book you’ve never read before. Enjoy it with friends. Enjoy it!!!

    • ameliaclaire92 March 5, 2012 at 11:31 pm #

      Oh I’ve definitely been enjoying it!

      • Wondering Wanderer March 6, 2012 at 2:52 pm #

        COFFEE is always good! Goes well with a good book.

      • ameliaclaire92 March 6, 2012 at 10:39 pm #

        Most definitely! I’ve been having my share of coffee and books. So wonderful!

  2. Sarah Hamze March 5, 2012 at 10:15 pm #

    I am on spring break too, and I am loving it! Its nice to be lazy for a change!

    • ameliaclaire92 March 5, 2012 at 11:32 pm #

      Exactly! Though I love learning, we all need a break at some point.

  3. Laura March 6, 2012 at 9:37 am #

    I would have liked to kill Taylor Doose after he had that song on repeat over and over and over! Hehehe!
    Enjoy spring break!

    • ameliaclaire92 March 6, 2012 at 10:54 am #

      I know right?! It randomly gets stuck in my head sometimes, and I blame him every time, haha!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Crazy Book Tours Virtual Blog Tour & Review: Lone Wolf by Jodi Picoult « Books in the Burbs - March 14, 2012

    […] Those Lazy, Hazy, Crazy Days… (lifeintheblueridges.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

