The Bookshelf Chronicles.

4 Mar

On Saturday, my dad and I headed to Ikea to finally get me some massive bookshelves. I had been hounding my parents for a while due to the fact that the main thing I wanted in my room in our house in NC was lots and lots of bookshelves. On Saturday, that dream came true. My dad and I looked online at Ikea’s website and found a Billy Bookcase that had 3 standard bookshelves and then 2 dvd towers that go in between them for stability. It pretty much spans my whole wall (with a little space on either side for things not to seem so crowded.

Anyway, today my dad put together the bookshelves, and while he was doing that, I unpacked my books and put them all in alphabetical order.

Before alphabetizing.

The first of 3 shelves.

After alphabetizing.

Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to get a picture of the finished bookshelves since I had to leave before my dad finished putting the shelves on. Also, I haven’t shelved the books yet, but I’ll be doing that soon as well (which will probably be the next time I’m at our house up there). I’m just so excited to have so much space to store books. For as long as I can remember, we’ve had bookshelves, but I’ve always had so many books that I’ve ended up with piles of books on the floor surrounding the bookshelf, so things just got cluttered. I hope having a full wall of bookshelves will eliminate that problem….or maybe I’ll just end up getting a lot more books since I know that I’ll have the space for them. Hmm.

Books are just wonderful. Don’t you agree?

9 Responses to “The Bookshelf Chronicles.”

  1. katkasia March 5, 2012 at 12:09 am #

    We have a whole wall of Billy bookcases too!
    My parents Have so many books in their house, they use them instead of insulation – every wall is lined with books.
    Enjoy yours! So nice to be able to see them all. 🙂

  2. Rachel Dinger March 5, 2012 at 4:43 am #

    Ah, those boxes of books. Reminds me of how the floor of my library always looked, because even with shelves and shelves, I still needed more shelves for the other wall. Books just make me happy. Glad you’re finally getting your shelves!

  3. akimynation March 5, 2012 at 7:33 am #

    I agree, they’re amazing, they help me get through the ordinariest of days and add spice to my life 🙂

  4. Whitney B. March 5, 2012 at 8:15 am #

    Yes, they are! Can’t wait to see the finished product

  5. Ben Coonrod March 5, 2012 at 10:10 am #

    You owe me cookies! 🙂
    Dad

  6. grigoriatsiakmaki March 5, 2012 at 10:56 am #

    You’re absolutely right! They’re amazing!

  7. katedockeray March 7, 2012 at 8:41 pm #

    Oh man, I remember when I got my first substantiallly sized bookshelf. I was also living with my parents and I had mounds and mounds of books and I found a nice one, on sale at Target. I was bound and determined to put that thing together myself, which I did and amazingly, 10+ years later it’s still standing and housing books in my own house.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Bookshelf Chronicles: Part Two. « lifeintheblueridges - May 3, 2012

    […] a wall of Billy Bookcases for my room. I realized yesterday that I never did a follow-up post to The Bookshelf Chronicles. Yes, we (or more precisely, my dad) got the wall of bookshelves up, and boy are they […]

Leave a Reply

