Photo Friday: Sunset And The Blue Ridge Parkway.

24 Feb

I captured this shot of the sunset a few days ago, and I just had to share it with all of you. I’m a lover a trees (if you haven’t already noticed), and I love the look of the line of trees in the distance.

Yesterday the weather was unseasonably warm, and I needed to clear my head. So I thought, what better way to think through things than with a drive on the parkway. I captured this shot from the first lookout that I came to, and I just can’t help but be breathless. The beauty of the Blue Ridge Mountains has always had a sort of magnetic pull on me. Seeing views like this reminds me of the beauty that surrounds us, even through the hardships of life. Though sometimes it’s hard to see the good things, they’re there…even if they are sometimes just a glimpse…a fleeting moment…that brings you back to love…and to life.

7 Responses to “Photo Friday: Sunset And The Blue Ridge Parkway.”

  1. Laura February 24, 2012 at 7:39 am #

    Such beautiful pictures 🙂 I like the trees too. And nothing can compare to the mountains. I grew up in the mountains here in KY, and now I’m in more central KY and you just can’t see the mountains from here, which makes me sad.

  2. Dave Shockley February 24, 2012 at 8:02 am #

    I love the outdoors also. What mile marker were you taking the photos from on the Parkway. Here is a link to a few videos that I have been making on the Blue Ridge Parkway near Charlottesville, Virginia. Starting at 0 and ending so far at mile marker 19. http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL8674A5CB51E065A5

  3. Bountiful Giving February 24, 2012 at 8:28 am #

    Your pictures are beautiful and capture the peace of the day. Love the sky.

  4. Lisa W. Rosenberg February 24, 2012 at 9:38 am #

    Breathtaking! A far cry from the NJ turnpike and Manhattan skyline. Thank you for this glimpse of beauty.

  5. sherrylcook February 24, 2012 at 2:42 pm #

    Oh, how I love the Blue Ridge Parkway! My aunt owns a mountain home on Beech Mtn. near Banner Elk, N. C. I remember spending many vacations there and I can’t wait to go back….. I have a T shirt that says….” the mountains are calling and I must go”. beautiful pics!!!!

  6. StickyQuotes February 24, 2012 at 4:49 pm #

    We love the North Carolina mountains don’t get to go a lot these days nice pics… Charlotte native…

  7. akimynation February 25, 2012 at 12:07 am #

    Love where you live! I’m so jealous, Ive always wanted to see a view like that upfront.

Leave a Reply

