The Apartment Stage.

23 Feb

About a week ago, something exciting happened. I signed a lease for my first apartment! I’ll be living there beginning in August with 2 of my friends, and I’m so excited! It’ll be nice to escape “dorm life” and be able to have my own room (that’s a decent size) and bathroom. And a kitchen! No more cafeteria food for me! I’m looking forward to being able to decorate and cook. Ah, it’s going to be so great!

It’s strange though. It’s strange to think that I’ve hit an age to have an apartment. It feels like just yesterday that I was living at home and having my brother drive me to school. It’s crazy how fast time flies. Anyway, I’m excited to be able to enter the “apartment stage” of my life. The great thing about the apartment complex where I’ve chosen to live is that it’s only about 2 minutes from campus, which is really convenient. Also, it’s as close to downtown as it is when I’m on campus, so it’ll be nice to know that I won’t have to drive further to get downtown.

I’m just excited to embrace my inner homebody. I’ve always felt like a homebody at heart, but I also love being able to get out and do things. I’ve been able to be a homebody this year, but only on a minimal scale. I live in a single room that’s in a dorm on campus, so I get cabin fever really quickly since I have such a limited space. Therefore, it’ll be nice to have much more space starting in August.

Ah, so exciting! I can’t wait to start this next “phase” in my life.

6 Responses to “The Apartment Stage.”

  1. Svati February 23, 2012 at 12:35 pm #

    I am going through the EXACT same thing right now. I’m going to be a senior next year and two friends and I are about to settle on an off-campus apartment… I love being a homebody, but it is very strange to think that I’ve hit an age where I can sign a lease for an apartment! Eeek.

  2. TBM February 23, 2012 at 12:38 pm #

    Have fun! I remember my first apartment.

  3. sherrylcook February 23, 2012 at 12:51 pm #

    What a wonderful stage to be in! learning and living new experiences…..Good for you!

  4. Heather February 23, 2012 at 12:54 pm #

    One day I will be in the apartment stage. Heck, I’m not even to the “Parent’s Basement” stage yet. I’m 20 and going to school and working, but I still dwell in the same bedroom of the same house I’ve had since I was a year old.

    I’m practically dying for change.

  5. jilllurie February 24, 2012 at 12:46 am #

    Congrats Amelia! I remember my first apartment – such a magical time 🙂

  6. Laura February 24, 2012 at 1:16 am #

    I got my first apartment after my sophomore year in college, with 3 other friends (two of them were a couple so they shared a room) It was SO NICE. I still drive by that place every now and then and I want it back, my apartment now is super tiny, but it’s just the 2 of us. Have fun with the move!

Leave a Reply

