Book World Disconnection And A Review.

22 Feb

I’m a huge bookworm. That’s a fact. However, I’m lagging behind on my vow to read more this year. Currently, I’m only on my third book of 2012. Granted, I am a college student, so I get cut some slack, right? Anyway, I miss the book world. I’m drawn to books like kids are drawn to candy stores, and it’s hard knowing that I’ve got bigger priorities than diving into a book. responsibility can be quite a bummer, but that’s life.

Anyway, last month I started Room by Emma Donoghue, and I’ve been disappointed. Here’s the synopsis from Amazon.com:

To five-year-old-Jack, Room is the world. . . . It’s where he was born, it’s where he and his Ma eat and sleep and play and learn. At night, his Ma shuts him safely in the wardrobe, where he is meant to be asleep when Old Nick visits. Room is home to Jack, but to Ma it’s the prison where she has been held for seven years. Through her fierce love for her son, she has created a life for him in this eleven-by-eleven-foot space. But with Jack’s curiosity building alongside her own desperation, she knows that Room cannot contain either much longer. Room is a tale at once shocking, riveting, exhilarating–a story of unconquerable love in harrowing circumstances, and of the diamond-hard bond between a mother and her child.

It’s been hard since I heard so many great reviews about this book, but I just wasn’t grabbed. I felt like I got further into the book when I read the synopsis than when I read 50-60 pages of the book before deciding to give up. I have a pretty short fuze when it comes to books. I love the read, but if I’m not grabbed relatively quickly, I lose interest. I’m sure some people enjoyed this book (obviously), but I just couldn’t get into it.

On the contrary, I started Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides a few days ago, and it’s incredibly interesting. Though I’m not very far into it, I already know that I’m really going to enjoy it. Here’s the synopsis from Amazon.com:

“I was born twice: first, as a baby girl, on a remarkably smogless Detroit day of January 1960; and then again, as a teenage boy, in an emergency room near Petoskey, Michigan, in August of 1974. . . My birth certificate lists my name as Calliope Helen Stephanides. My most recent driver’s license…records my first name simply as Cal.”
So begins the breathtaking story of Calliope Stephanides and three generations of the Greek-American Stephanides family who travel from a tiny village overlooking Mount Olympus in Asia Minor to Prohibition-era Detroit, witnessing its glory days as the Motor City, and the race riots of 1967, before they move out to the tree-lined streets of suburban Grosse Pointe, Michigan. To understand why Calliope is not like other girls, she has to uncover a guilty family secret and the astonishing genetic history that turns Callie into Cal, one of the most audacious and wondrous narrators in contemporary fiction. Lyrical and thrilling, Middlesex is an exhilarating reinvention of the American epic.

I’ll definitely be reviewing Middlesex once I finish it, so stay tuned!

7 Responses to “Book World Disconnection And A Review.”

  1. Whitney B. February 22, 2012 at 10:41 am #

    “Middlesex” is great! Hope you like it. I’m disappointed about “Room” though…it was on my list to read this year.

  2. morelife4me February 22, 2012 at 10:44 am #

    I agree with you on the book Room. I, as well, had read great reviews on the book and was excited to dive right in and be absorbed by this “shocking, riveting, exhilarating” tale. Not the case. 😦 Alas, it sits on my shelf having been a not-so-good read.

  3. TBM February 22, 2012 at 11:49 am #

    I loved Middlesex! Loved it!

  4. A Novel Place February 22, 2012 at 12:45 pm #

    I’ve wanted to read Room for a while now, but now that I know it isn’t all it’s cracked up to be, I won’t worry about that one too much. Thanks for the heads up! And I’ve never heard of Middlesex before, but it sounds really interesting. I’ll put that on my list =)

  5. Ottabelle February 22, 2012 at 7:21 pm #

    Enjoy your book and good luck with the rest of the reading year 🙂

  6. Perfecting Motherhood February 22, 2012 at 10:04 pm #

    I loved Room. I started it and couldn’t put it down. But I’m older than you and I’m a mom of little ones. I suggest you try it again in a few years, with a different perspective. Some books I read in my 20s and couldn’t stand them and I love them today, and vice versa. Books don’t change but we do.

  7. Linds February 23, 2012 at 10:34 pm #

    I’m impressed that you’re even reading for pleasure at all in college 🙂 Like you, I’m drawn to books like candy and Middlesex has been sitting on my shelf for a couple of months. You’ve inspired me to start reading it!

Leave a Reply

