Tuesday’s Tunes: Alison Krauss and Union Station.

21 Feb

I’ve always felt a strong connection to Alison Krauss, and I think that’s because my parents played a lot of Alison Krauss and Shawn Colvin in our house when I was growing up. Anyway, on April 28th, I’ll be going to see Alison Krauss and Union Station in concert with my mom, and I am beyond excited. Her voice is incredible, and I can’t wait to experience her music live.

I like the majority of Alison Krauss’s songs, so it’s hard to pick just one for today’s Tuesday’s Tunes. I think I’ll go with “The Lucky One.” Enjoy!

You’re the lucky one so I’ve been told
as Free as the wind blowindown the road
Loved by many, hated by none
I’d say you were lucky cause I know what you’ve done
Not a care in the world not a worry in sight
Everything’s going to be all right
Cause you’re the lucky one

You’re the lucky one always havin fun
A jack of all trades a master of none
You look at the world with a smiling eye
And laugh at the devil as the train rolls by
give you a song and a one-night stand
And you’ll be looking at a happy man
Cause you’re the lucky one

Well you’re you blessed? I guess
By never knowin which road you’re choosing
To you the next best thing to playin and winning
Is playin and losin

You’re the lucky one I know that now
Don’t ask you why when where or how
You look at the world with your smiling eye
And laugh at the devil as his train rolls by
give you a song and a one-night stand
And you’ll be looking at a happy man
Cause you’re the lucky one

Well you’re you blessed? I guess
By never knowin which road you’re choosing
To you the next best thing to playin and winning
Is playin and losin

You’re the lucky one I know that now
Don’t ask you why when where or how
No matter where you ride, that’s where you’ll be,
You can bet your love won’t follow me,
Just give you a song and a one-night stand
And you’ll be looking at a happy man
Cause you’re the lucky one…

If you’re not familiar with Alison Krauss, check her out! Her voice is simply beautiful.

4 Responses to “Tuesday’s Tunes: Alison Krauss and Union Station.”

  1. chaconrafa February 21, 2012 at 10:06 am #

    Alison Krauss. She is great!

  2. Saving My Belly Button Ring February 23, 2012 at 3:41 am #

    Alison Krauss is awesome! I like the song – When you say nothing at all. Enjoy the show!

  3. edlynch July 29, 2012 at 4:05 pm #

    Ever heard the Raising Sand album by Alison with Robert Plant? A rather odd pairing, but magical. It’s produced by T-Bone Burnett, who also produced August and Everything After by Counting Crows. And who, by the way, is (or was, you know how that is) married to a very talented vocalist and songwriter named Sam Phillips (not to be confused with the legendary Sun Records owner Sam Phillips, who made the first recordings of Elvis). It’s such a small world, isn’t it, after all!

    • ameliaclaire92 July 29, 2012 at 4:16 pm #

      Yep, I’ve heard of that album. Didn’t know it’s producer was married to Sam Phillips (I love her music!)

Leave a Reply

