Life Lessons From Elizabeth Gilbert.

12 Feb

I’ve been drawn to the words of Elizabeth Gilbert recently, the author of Eat Pray Love, and I thought I’d share some of my favorites with all of you. I feel like most of these quotes relate to life in general, and for me, they’ve been like a slap in the face….in terms of showing me that I can’t keep running from the reality of my life. We’ve just got to ride it out, and try to hang on as best as we can. It’s all any of us can do.

  1. “Happiness is the consequence of personal effort. You fight for it, strive for it, insist upon it, and sometimes even travel around the world looking for it. You have to participate relentlessly in the manifestations of your own blessings. And once you have achieved a state of happiness, you must never become lax about maintaining it. You must make a mighty effort to keep swimming upward into that happiness forever, to stay afloat on top of it.”
  2. “When I get lonely these days, I think: So BE lonely. Learn your way around loneliness. Make a map of it. Sit with it, for once in your life. Welcome to the human experience. But never again use another person’s body or emotions as a scratching post for your own unfulfilled yearnings.”
  3. “To lose balance sometimes for love is part of living a balanced life.”
  4. “There is so much about my fate that I cannot control, but other things do fall under the jurisdiction. I can decide how I spend my time, whom I interact with, whom I share my body and life and money and energy with. I can select what I can read and eat and study. I can choose how I’m going to regard unfortunate circumstances in my life-whether I will see them as curses or opportunities. I can choose my words and the tone of voice in which I speak to others. And most of all, I can choose my thoughts.”
  5. “You need to learn how to select your thoughts just the same way you select your clothes every day. This is a power you can cultivate. If you want to control things in your life so bad, work on the mind. That’s the only thing you should be trying to control.”
  6. “Never forget that once upon a time, in an unguarded moment, you recognized yourself as a friend.”
  7. “You were given life; it is your duty (and also your entitlement as a human being) to find something beautiful within life, no matter how slight.”
  8. “When you’re lost in those woods, it sometimes takes you a while to realize that you are lost. For the longest time, you can convince yourself that you’ve just wandered off the path, that you’ll find your way back to the trailhead any moment now. Then night falls again and again, and you still have no idea where you are, and it’s time to admit that you have bewildered yourself so far off the path that you don’t even know from which direction the sun rises anymore.”
  9. “Someday you’re gonna look back on this moment of your life as such a sweet time of grieving. You’ll see that you were in mourning and your heart was broken, but your life was changing…”
  10. “We search for happiness everywhere, but we are like Tolstoy’s fabled beggar who spent his life sitting on a pot of gold, under him the whole time. Your treasure–your perfection–is within you already. But to claim it, you must leave the buy commotion of the mind and abandon the desires of the ego and enter into the silence of the heart.”
  11. “To find the balance you want, this is what you must become. You must keep your feet grounded so firmly on the earth that it’s like you have 4 legs instead of 2. That way, you can stay in the world. But you must stop looking at the world through your head. You must look through your heart, instead.”
  12. “I’m choosing happiness over suffering, I know I am. I’m making space for the unknown future to fill up my life with yet-to-come surprises.”
  13. “At some point, you gotta let go, and sit still, and allow contentment to come to you.”
  14. “Deep grief sometimes is almost like a specific location, a coordinate on a map of time. When you are standing in that forest of sorrow, you cannot imagine that you could ever find your way to a better place. But if someone can assure you that they themselves have stood in that same place, and now have moved on, sometimes this will bring hope”
  15. “And when you sense a faint potentiality for happiness after such dark times you must grab onto the ankles of that happiness and not let go until it drags you face-first out of the dirt-this is not selfishness, but obligation. You were given life; it is your duty to find something beautiful within life no matter how slight.”
  16. “The Bhagavad Gita—that ancient Indian Yogic text—says that it is better to live your own destiny imperfectly than to live an imitation of somebody else’s life with perfection. So now I have started living my own life. Imperfect and clumsy as it may look, it is resembling me now, thoroughly.”

I hope these quotes can help you as much as they’ve helped me. Happy Sunday everyone.

9 Responses to “Life Lessons From Elizabeth Gilbert.”

  1. Jamie Elizabeth Danielle Weise February 12, 2012 at 8:03 pm #

    woooow, I love Elizabeth Gilbert. Which book is your favorite?

    • ameliaclaire92 February 12, 2012 at 8:04 pm #

      I actually haven’t read any of her books, but I’ve seen Eat Pray Love. I’ve been meaning to read the book though!

      • Jamie Elizabeth Danielle Weise February 12, 2012 at 8:05 pm #

        It inspired me so much. Read it. But also you have to read Atlas Shrugged, and The Fountainhead by Ayn Rand…they will change your life. CHEERS!

      • ameliaclaire92 February 12, 2012 at 8:06 pm #

        Ah, cool! I’ll have to check them all out. 🙂

      • Jamie Elizabeth Danielle Weise February 12, 2012 at 8:09 pm #

        🙂

  2. fromcheaptherapy February 12, 2012 at 8:15 pm #

    EXCELLENT reminders from Elizabeth Gilbert, Amelia. thanks for them. thanks even more for YOUR VOICE and very rich reminders. i bet Elizabeth would shout the loudest ~ trust YOUR voice!

    in case you haven’t seen her TED Talk, here’s a link. http://www.ted.com/talks/elizabeth_gilbert_on_genius.html

    i celebrate who you are and who you are becoming.
    thanks for sharing that journey with us.

  3. indialeigh February 12, 2012 at 10:13 pm #

    Reblogged this on Single Girl in the City and commented:
    I foloI follow this thoughtful blog. She always has a gem within her words but today she is sparkling. I wanted to share it with you. Unadulterated.

  4. Glynis J. Jolly February 13, 2012 at 6:49 am #

    I especially like numbers 1 and 2. Good thoughts to live by.

  5. Anita S February 13, 2012 at 8:56 am #

    This is the one that really got to me:
    “But never again use another person’s body or emotions as a scratching post for your own unfulfilled yearnings.”
    I realized how often I do use other people, and that that sort of behavior needs to become unthinkable for me.

Leave a Reply

