Ground Yourself In Music, In Living.

9 Feb

I love to sing. Music is a big part of my life in the sense that I’m constantly listening to it. When I’m not enjoying it, things feel sorta off kilter…like something’s just not quite right. Even though many people are drawn to music because of the emotions that it brings to the surface, I love it for different reasons. I love music and singing because it makes me feel alive. It’s like every cell in my body is saying, “Yay! Happiness!” every time I sing or listen to music. It’s such an incredible feeling that has the power to reach down into my soul and let out all the love that I want to give to the world.

I think I love singing and music because it provides me with a sense of presence, which is something that I also get through yoga. When I sing or hear music that I enjoy, I’m grounded in the moment. I’m letting the music move through me, while being so happy to be living. Though I turn to music when I’m in all sorts of moods, I love that it has the power to get me out of a really crummy mood. I’ve got to sing out the pain. I mean, a few days ago I was feeling down (due to the emotions from book writing) and so I went to drive on the parkway with music blasting and singing at the top of my lungs. Though I know that I don’t want to sing as a career, I think it’s something that will always help me remember to stay true to myself. It’s a reminder that though life is hard, the only thing we’re sure of is this precise moment. So why worry about the moments that aren’t even in front of you yet?Β Not worrying about the future is something I have to constantly remind myself to do. However, through music and singing, I’m able to ground myself in music, in living.

Here are some of the upbeat (mostly country) songs that I blast in my car when I need to be reminded of the amazing parts of life:

  1. Get Out Of This Town-Carrie Underwood
  2. Georgia Peaches-Lauren Alaina
  3. She’s A Wildflower-Lauren Alaina
  4. Miles To Go-Alison Krauss and Union Station
  5. Some Days You Gotta Dance-Dixie Chicks
  6. Everybody by Ingrid Michaelson
  7. Marry You-Bruno Mars
  8. What Doesn’t Kill You-Kelly Clarkson
  9. Build Me Up Buttercup-The Foundations
  10. Some Hearts-Carrie Underwood

If you haven’t checked out those songs, you should. They’re amazing!

12 Responses to “Ground Yourself In Music, In Living.”

  1. writinglikeastoner February 9, 2012 at 10:06 am #

    I do the same too ! πŸ™‚ Sometimes, music helps me to get more inspiration, and it helps me a lot when I’m down, that’s when I’ll turn on to really happy and hyped up songs, that makes you feel better ! πŸ™‚

  2. TBM February 9, 2012 at 10:12 am #

    Music is such a great outlet. I love to sing, but not everyone loves my singing…sigh, I still sing.

  3. desiryan February 9, 2012 at 6:06 pm #

    music is eternal. I look into music for intellect and craftsmenship and technicality. πŸ™‚

  4. thisismyeverest February 9, 2012 at 7:09 pm #

    I’ve tried to explain my adoration for music to my bf before and he just doesn’t get it. It’s not that he dislikes music, he just isn’t intrinsically moved by it or drawn to it like I am. I totally understand how you feel! Only, I can’t sing. πŸ˜‰ I envy you! I’m sure you have a beautiful voice.

  5. Errign February 9, 2012 at 7:42 pm #

    Marry You is one of my favorite jams πŸ™‚ Other suggestions for you:

    “United States of Pop 2011” DJ Earworm (free mashup available online- google it!)
    “Mercy” – Duffy
    “Leave the Pieces” The Wreckers

  6. jilllurie February 9, 2012 at 10:08 pm #

    Of all days, of all moments, thank you for this today in THIS moment. πŸ™‚

  7. belasbrightideas February 9, 2012 at 11:02 pm #

    Well of course there are many studies that prove that sound vibrations are healing – so happy you discover this in your own life!

  8. zacharyfenell February 10, 2012 at 1:52 pm #

    Like everyone else here, I feel the same way about music. I wrote an article published on Yahoo! Voices about what country songs help to get me out of a crummy mood- http://voices.yahoo.com/country-musics-most-inspirational-songs-10435803.html?cat=33

  9. treadmarkz February 10, 2012 at 3:17 pm #

    You mentioned yoga. I have a disability, and am interested in yoga. What adaptations have you had to make in “regular” yoga practice?

    • ameliaclaire92 February 10, 2012 at 3:35 pm #

      I take a restorative yoga class where I live. It’s yoga for people who have pain, injuries, or limitations. It’s more of a relaxation practice than regular yoga, but it’s really helped me!

  10. ailialana February 16, 2012 at 5:57 pm #

    Music…my favourite language.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A voice to share… « Carrie's Bench - February 9, 2012

    […] her blog – ‘lifeintheblueridges‘. Rate this: Share this:EmailFacebookTwitterStumbleUponLinkedInLike this:Like3 bloggers like […]

Leave a Reply

