My 100th Post!

6 Feb

It’s hard to believe that I started this blog on November 1st of last year, and I’ve already written 100 posts. I guess that’s what happens when you vow to write a post a day and actually stick to it. It still feels kind of unreal though. I feel like I just started this blog, and already I’ve reached a milestone.

Most of all though, I’d like to thank all of you, my wonderful followers. You’ve helped me see that I’m able to have an impact on others with my words. Also, without all of you, I doubt I would have realized how much I miss writing. Though some people are surprised that I write a post a day, it’s not a challenge for me. It’s something that I want to do and need to do. Even on the days where I don’t have much of anything to say, I still write a post. It’s a routine that I’m scared to break I guess. I just feel like releasing my emotions on a day-to-day basis allows me to feel less stressed and anxious, so not writing a post on a certain day would just feel wrong.

As I’m writing this, I’m sitting in the library cafe on campus enjoying a vanilla latte and lemon poppy-seed muffin, my current favorite breakfast (even though I hardly ever really eat breakfast). Students are coming in and out to get coffee or snacks between classes. Chit-chat, the whirring sounds of the coffee machine, and the opening and closing of the register drawer surround me. Even though I’m surrounded by life, I’m in my own little world too. Despite being surrounded by the commotion of a typical cafe, at the same time it just feels like I’m the only one here…just me and the calm clicking of the computer keys as I type. I think that’s what this blog has given me over the past few months: a safe place where I can write out what I’m feeling, while also getting support from all of you.

Even through all the different things that I’ll face in the future, I hope to keep this blog going. Scratch that, I will keep it going. Since I’ve gotten into yoga recently, I’ve realized the importance of having time to myself. That’s what my restorative yoga class is on Fridays: “me time.” It’s helped me more than I imagined…allowing me to relax, while also helping me find ways to face day-to-day life with a calmer mind and stronger sense of being. I guess that’s what this blog has been too. Just another dose of “me time.” However, instead of quieting my mind, I’m letting it wander. I’m breaking down the boundaries I’ve kept up for so long and letting go of a lot of things that have held me back in the past….I’m spreading my wings, closing my eyes, and hurdling myself out into the blue sky of life.

15 Responses to “My 100th Post!”

  1. K.S. Ballou February 6, 2012 at 10:56 am #

    I think committing to something like writing every day can be so good for the soul. I think it allows you to reflect and increases your insight into your own life & the world around you. Congratulations on your 100th post!

  2. Wondering Wanderer February 6, 2012 at 10:59 am #

    Finding that safe place where your mind can wander about freely, to express whatever is banging around within, is vitally important for your health (and sanity). Peace is not a lack of storms…peace is that place where you are safe in spite of the storms.

    It’s as if you”re transforming from a caterpillar into a butterfly, and you’re getting prepared to venture forth into your future. Good for you~~

    • ameliaclaire92 February 6, 2012 at 1:57 pm #

      I love that image of turning into a butterfly.

      • Wondering Wanderer February 6, 2012 at 2:03 pm #

        The caterpillar builds a tightly enclosed space to hide from the world, the butterfly is ready to break free and fly to new places. Now…what kind of butterfly are you? Not the common Monarch, certainly. I’m picturing something more like the Costa Rican rare Blue-Morpho, which has vibrant colors.

      • ameliaclaire92 February 6, 2012 at 2:04 pm #

        Yes, I feel like the rare Costa Rican one fits! 🙂

    • Wondering Wanderer February 6, 2012 at 2:11 pm #

      When you fly, fly freely!
      When you laugh, laugh heartily!
      When you live, live passionately!
      Fear not what others say or think, for they are not you!

      You are going to dazzle and amaze!!!

      • ameliaclaire92 February 6, 2012 at 2:13 pm #

        Aw, thank you. That’s so sweet of you to say!

  3. Carrie February 6, 2012 at 12:13 pm #

    I have just ‘met’ you and already know the gift of your honest reflection. Welcome to 100!

  4. Nicola February 6, 2012 at 2:21 pm #

    Congratulations on the 100, I’ve only recently discovered your lovely, here’s to many more entries!

  5. Hot Rod Cowgirl February 6, 2012 at 4:26 pm #

    Congrats Congrats on the 100th!!! 🙂

  6. mostlyhippiemama February 6, 2012 at 4:56 pm #

    congrats on 100 posts! yay! 🙂

  7. awarewriter February 6, 2012 at 9:02 pm #

    Congratulations and on to the next post, and the next and the next — all the while encouraging your muse (mine is a dragon) to come out and play.

  8. Glynis Jolly February 7, 2012 at 4:02 pm #

    Write a blog entry in a cafe is not something I would try myself. I guess I’m too private a person or need more quiet than that environment would give me. However, I wish I could do this. Happy 100th post!

  9. writinglikeastoner February 8, 2012 at 2:06 am #

    Congratulations for your 100th post ! 🙂 And good luck with the book writing! 🙂

  10. TAMMY February 9, 2012 at 9:01 pm #

    I’m almost inspired to do the same thing (a post a day) because of success, because I’m definitely a slacker when it comes to writing and posting. Bravo to you girly.

Leave a Reply

