The Search For The Perfect Downtown Coffee Shop.

28 Jan

When my parents and I were exploring Asheville today, I decided that I wanted to try to find the perfect downtown coffee shop in Asheville for studying. Though it’s convenient to study in my dorm room on campus, I can get pretty stir crazy and it’s nice to be able to get off campus for some fresh air.

The first stop was World Coffee Cafe on Battery Park Avenue. The girls working there were really friendly and there was plenty of seating (a good amount in the main room and then a few smaller rooms in the back that are nice and quiet for studying. Pros: good distance from parking garage (just park in the Wall Street Parking Garage and walk up the street, and you’ll see it on the right hand side), relatively close to Pritchard Park (good place for live music). Cons: lacks a true cozy atmosphere (which is fine if you’re needing to studying but not if you’re wanting to relax and chill for a while). Overall rating: 4 out of 5 stars.

We then headed toward Pritchard Park and came across a great group of street musicians called Lyric. The main vocalist, who goes by the name of “Lyric,” sounded a lot like Tracy Chapman, so I was instantly hooked. I also got their cd, titled “Guitar Feet.” Here’s their Bio (taken from reverbnation.com):

“Forget being signed. Paper fades. Legends don’t. I was born one.” This is what this band lives by. They started out as street musicians, filling downtown Asheville streets corners while touching many hearts . “The streets is where we love to be. We get so much positive feedback that it pushes us to work harder. This is where we started and I wouldn’t have it any other way,” said Leeda Jones(Lyric). With a sound and style that is so unique, they’re sure to please any crowd. Playing covers such as “Fast Car and Give me One Reason,” by Tracy Chapman, to their compelling version of Tear the Roof Off/ We Want the Funk,” by George Clinton, it would be hard not to get in the groove with them. Not to mention their well-known catchy originals such as “Blue Skies,” and “So High,” which are loved by their many fans.

Lyric has played street festivals such as the Bele Chere Festival, the Goombay festival and the Black Mountain arts festival and they have also played with Grammy award-winning Count M’Butu from Derrick Trucks band, and they have opened for Grammy award-winning Lizz Wright. The band also just got out of the studio as well, where they completed they’re second full album “Guitar Feet.” The title given by; Megan Drye and Leeda Jones(Lyric). “ This album deserved the name “Guitar Feet,” Because after Lyric learned to play the guitar it gave her dream feet, said Megan Drye.

(Check out “So High” on Youtube. There’s a video of them playing it at The Lab in Asheville. Great song!)

The second stop on the search for the perfect downtown coffee shop was Green Light Cafe on N. Lexington Avenue. This had a more restaurant feel and not much of the “cafe atmosphere” that I was looking for. Pros: Right off Broadway Street (near Pritchard Park), friendly service, and artsy walls. Since it felt more like a restaurant, I wouldn’t suggest it as a primo study spot. Cons: Overall rating: 2 out of 5 stars.

The third and final stop was The Green Sage on Broadway Street. Upon stepping my foot inside, I knew this was the spot for me. The smell of coffee filled my nose, and even though there weren’t comfy chairs, I normally don’t want to be too comfortable when doing schoolwork. Pros: Right across the street from the Broadway Parking Garage, great service, plenty of seating, amazing vanilla lattes, enough seats by the window for prime people watching if that’s your style. I highly recommend going here, even if you’re just stopping in Asheville for a quick visit. It’s definitely got the Asheville feel to it, and they use all organic coffee beans which make the lattes incredibly smooth! Overall rating: 5 out of 5 stars.

9 Responses to “The Search For The Perfect Downtown Coffee Shop.”

  1. Laura January 28, 2012 at 6:01 pm #

    I love coffee! (Too bad Luke’s isn’t real. Sigh it’s sad, everything just makes me think of the Gilmore Girls no matter what it is..)

    • ameliaclaire92 January 28, 2012 at 6:09 pm #

      I know, right?! I’m the same way! I reference Gilmore Girls daily, and I constantly wish Luke’s was real. I’d make the drive if it was (which would be a LONG way from Asheville, NC…so that’s saying something!)

      • Laura January 29, 2012 at 6:23 am #

        I would definitely make a pilgrimage there! I know it’s sort of based on a real town and oh gosh once I read online a group of people trying to think of a location to build and start a new town, modeled after the show. I alternated between thinking that was a bit extreme, and wishing that my husband would consider moving if it were real!

  2. andy1076 January 28, 2012 at 9:46 pm #

    mmmmm…coffee..! 🙂

  3. Chris January 29, 2012 at 1:01 am #

    It’s not quite downtown but close enough… you should check out the Dripolator. I’m not really a coffee drinker but they have lots of good stuff there, and a great atmosphere.

    Also if you get adventurous and want to head to the outskirts of town, I can’t say enough good things about Filo. The food is great, the atmosphere is neat, and it looks from the outside like it would be some old Greek building or a church or something. If it wasn’t way on the other side of town I’d probably go there more often.

  4. Glynis J. Jolly January 29, 2012 at 5:23 pm #

    I don’t live anywhere near you but you got me thinking about the places where the coffee is good in the town I live it. Thank you for the inspiration for a new post.

  5. mostlyhippiemama January 31, 2012 at 10:17 am #

    fun!
    it’s amazing how much better organic coffee is than conventionally grown!

  6. bedsidesign January 31, 2012 at 9:35 pm #

    A good coffee shop is so priceless, especially for refocusing and cranking out the work!

  7. lettersfromasomedayeditor February 1, 2012 at 11:51 am #

    I’m still on the same search! It’s so hard to find the perfect mixture of atmosphere and tastiness. One day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

