Thinking Of Writing A Book…And I Need YOUR Help.

26 Jan

Over the last few days, and especially after yesterday’s post, I’ve had the weird feeling of wanting to write a book. Normally saying that I want to write a book wouldn’t be weird, except for the fact that I don’t know what it would be about. I do know that I  want to focus on inspiration while pulling some examples of rising above challenges from my own life. However, even with that in mind, I still feel like it would just be a jumble of random inspirational crap. I don’t know how to connect it all, while also striving to make it something others would want to read.

I guess part of this blog was meant to see how people I don’t know in real life (except for a few) would react to my writing. Kinda a trial and error for a potential book. However, when I started this blog, I didn’t even consider that as a reason. I guess it’s just something that slowly rose to the surface as a possibility. At this point though, I still don’t exactly know what I want to do. The thought of sharing my words with the world sounds magical, but it’s not realistic. Yes, I share my writing with all of you here, but I think many would agree that it’s just not the same thing.

I used to want to write a book when I was younger. Then that desire went away. But now it’s back. The feeling I have now regarding it is different that my stance a few years back. A few years ago, I was drawn more to writing fiction and poetry. However, more recently I’ve been pulled towards writing inspirational posts that include pieces of my own life journey thus far. Some days, I just yearn to write. So I type until I can’t anymore. Often times, I have to force myself to stop since I’m in college and have studies and work to worry about. But just being able to get out my thoughts and words every day has helped either way.

Now is where all of you come in. I want YOUR advice. How do you write so people will want to read your book? How do you know where to start? How do you go about finding people to edit your work, and in the long run, finding someone to publish it? I know that overall I should write something because I need/want to and not because of others, but ultimately, I want to be able to reach out to others and have a positive impact on their life. However, I’m not sure how exactly to go about accomplishing that goal. Yes, so many questions, but I want YOUR feedback!

21 Responses to “Thinking Of Writing A Book…And I Need YOUR Help.”

  1. stevepmoore January 26, 2012 at 7:39 am #

    I guess I have had something of that dream too, and it has ‘ended up’ as a blog instead… But I still love the idea of a complete, coherent, solid BOOK! Yaay!

    If it was me (which it’s not!) it would be primarily be about the impact it would have on other people. I guess I’d start with the end result in mind and work backwards: what will be the response to what I am going to produce? How will the reader FEEL? What difference will this book make?

    …and then I’d see how I could go about getting to those outcomes.

    Good luck!

  2. bajamerson January 26, 2012 at 9:45 am #

    Well, do you feel like you want to write nonfiction (maybe inspirational) or fiction? Let’s start there. I personally like your writing which is why I subscribed to your blog. If you have great writing, that’s always a good foundation to writing a book regardless of content.

  3. infinity3303 January 26, 2012 at 11:22 am #

    Hi Amelia-

    How are you? I noticed that you checked out my recent blog post and commented…thanks so much!

    I came to your post today and saw your new post. I may have some insight for you…I have published a children’s book (www.thelightinsideofme.com) and recently won a publishing contest with Hay House (which is an amazing publishing company for empowerment).

    Something you may want to consider is attending a Hay House Movers & Shakers Event (goto hayhouse.com and look through events).

    I would love to talk with you to give you some ideas and insight from my experiences. Feel free to contact me through my blog or website http://www.theinfinityfoundation.com

    Love & Light,

    Vicki

    PS Do you have a facebook page?

    • ameliaclaire92 January 26, 2012 at 2:21 pm #

      Thank you so much for your input Vicki! I’ll check out Hay House! 🙂

  4. katkasia January 26, 2012 at 5:36 pm #

    Hi,

    I think you write very well, and so if you feel that you might want to write a book, give it a go! It’s probably worth seeing what else is out there in the genre you are thinking of, and although I have no experience with non-fiction, I’d be thinking that you need some kind of strong structure to base things around. Apart from anything else, it makes getting the word on paper so much easier.

    As for publishing – it’s a tough world out there, particularly with mainstream publishers becoming more conservative and less willing to take risks. However, there is always the option of publishing an ebook, which you can do yourself. That’s what I plan to do very soon with my novel ‘The Artemis Effect’ – partly because it seems to me that that is the way that publishing is going, and also because it is a book which is slightly more difficult to fit into a recognised genre (it’s kind of sci-fi, but more general fiction), it is harder to get a publisher interested.

    There is quite a bit of info out there on the net about the benefits of self-publishing, if you want to look into it further.

    So best of luck! Will be interested to hear how you get on.

  5. awarewriter January 26, 2012 at 6:20 pm #

    Hi Amelia,

    I suggest you begin writing without worrying about theme, subject or anything except what occurs to you at the time. Just let it all out. Don’t stop to edit, don’t go back, simply keep on writing and let your unconscious creative self take over. I think you’ll be amazed at what will happen.

    Above all, don’t judge what you are writing, give yourself permission to write poorly and make mistakes.

    John

    • ameliaclaire92 January 26, 2012 at 6:30 pm #

      John, thank you so much for your advice. It means a lot!

  6. stillmindzen January 26, 2012 at 9:39 pm #

    Hi Amelia,
    I agree with John, just write. Sometimes when you start to try to analyze every single word and point of structure, the ideas get blocked, and you will forget what you wanted to say because your brain was too busy focusing on putting things in the right order and making it sound elegant. So yeah, definitely start by just writing, and then later you can chip away at it, like carving a piece of wood. Chip away until the form that you were looking for is revealed.
    Hope this helps. I’m in the process of writing a book myself, so I can sympathize with your situation.
    ^_^

  7. bluebee January 27, 2012 at 2:51 am #

    Anecdotes in narrative form – make short stories out of the challenges you’ve faced and how you’ve overcome them

  8. ailialana January 27, 2012 at 8:22 am #

    Write with your heart and soul Amelia. When the book is meant to be written/published it will be written/published. Whoever is meant to read it will read it. Trust you instincts. Write the book first..or at least the bones (especially Synopsis and first three chapters) then do a little reseach (put google to good use). Most publishing companies have information on what type of books they are interested in, how to submit etc. You may need an agent for many of them but don’t worry to much about that right now. Write first…research later.

    Also Vicki above give you some great advice. I am a huge Hay House fan. Inspirational non-fiction is there thing. Good luck!

    • ameliaclaire92 January 27, 2012 at 11:11 am #

      🙂 Thanks for making me remember that I should write for myself first and foremost. Sometimes I tend to forget that. 🙂

  9. Lisa W. Rosenberg January 27, 2012 at 9:54 am #

    Hi Amelia, you write so beautifully, with such honesty, I think almost anything that feels right to you will be wonderful. I personally would love to see you do a memoir.

    I just went to a memoir writing seminar, where Paula Balzar talked about the importance of focusing on a a finite snapshot of a period in your life, not the whole thing, and then paying attention to plot (which I wouldn’t have thought of). She said a memoir needs a plot arc just like fiction.)

    I think the idea of living with being different is a theme that almost everyone can relate to–the idea of sometimes feeling invisible when your differences are visible. If this makes sense. I for one will be cheering you on!

  10. ghamize January 27, 2012 at 2:43 pm #

    I completely understand where you’re coming from. I’ve wanted to write a book since I was a kid, and I’ve always written short stories or films or directed things like that, and am in the process of writing a book now. I think the hardest part is starting. You need to really imagine the environment of the book you’re writing in – completely submerge yourself into all of it and, if you have 1 main protagonist, think of yourself as that person and almost become that character so you can write them compellingly. You really just need to have an idea and then go from there, thinking of the world your character lives in, what their problems are, what you want to the story to revolve around (the character’s issues or what ever else). It all depends on the kind of book you want to write.

    I’d start with 1 single idea if I were you, and then maybe jot down ideas. For me, it comes easiest when I think of my character and then start considering her/his relation to the world.

  11. Rachel January 28, 2012 at 5:25 pm #

    First thing, I would just focus on the writing. Put all the questions of who will read it and who will publish it aside for the moment. (Some people might disagree with this from a marketing standpoint, but right now all you need to focus on is writing). People start different ways, but one thing that gets me going is to pose a what-if question. (If you read Stephen King’s On Writing, you will see he submits to this strategy as well). So I write from questions like, “what if there was a woman who just got divorced, and she got this HUGE, expensive house out of it, but she realizes she has no money to keep it up?” Just pose a question – something to get you thinking, and then explore and see where it goes. Good luck!

  12. michelle0702 January 29, 2012 at 3:40 am #

    I’ve always wanted to write a book too! But I’m currently looking for inspiration too. I think you can try posting stories on websites which showcase others’ stories. From there, maybe you can see how things go. You can also get help from teachers or professors you know who major in English to help edit your story. Who knows, maybe they might be able to tell you how to find someone who is able to help publish your book… Good luck!

    I love your way of writing!

  13. Nicola January 29, 2012 at 5:05 am #

    Hi, you could try Blurb http://www.blurb.com/, FastPencil http://www.fastpencil.com/
    Good luck with the book – sounds a great idea !

Leave a Reply

