Tuesday’s Tunes: Ingrid Michaelson.

24 Jan

Over the past few months, I’ve been enjoying music by Ingrid Michaelson. I don’t know what it is about her music, but it’s catchy while being easy to relate to all at once. She is a New York-based indie-pop singer-songwriter, and her music has been featured in many popular tv shows, including Grey’s Anatomy.

Here are the lyrics to one of my favorite songs by her, called “Giving Up”:

What if we stop having a ball?
What if the paint chips from the wall?
What if there’s always cups in the sink?
What if I’m not what you think I am?

What if I fall further than you?
What if you dream of somebody new?
What if I never let you win, chase you with a rolling pin?
Well what if I do?

I am giving up on making passes and
I am giving up on half empty glasses and
I am giving up on greener grasses
I am giving up

What if our baby comes home after nine?
What it your eyes close before mine?
What if you lose yourself sometimes?
Then I’ll be the one to find you
Safe in my heart

I am giving up on making passes and
I am giving up on half empty glasses and
I am giving up on greener grasses
I am giving up

I am giving up
I am giving up
I am giving up on greener grasses

I am giving up for you
I am giving up for you
I am giving up

Though this song is incredibly sad, I just love the flow of it mixed with the softness of Ingrid’s voice. It’s the person song to have as background music when you’re doing other things.

Have you heard any songs lately that you’ve really connected with? 

4 Responses to “Tuesday’s Tunes: Ingrid Michaelson.”

  1. Katrina January 24, 2012 at 8:49 am #

    Great post. I did a similar one a while make, check it out

  2. Vann January 24, 2012 at 10:20 am #

    Thanks for the Ingrid M. and Marc B. tip. I’ll keep my ears up. I might suggest the Wood Brothers to put some “chocolate on your tongue” or use a “breeze for a telephone wire”. There’s just “too many horses and mysterious forces” and “its too late to hide, feet too soft to run”. By the way they’re going to be at the Peel on 14 March. Great way to spend a Saturday night even if it is on Wednesday.

  3. Errign January 24, 2012 at 11:30 am #

    Her song Maybe is fantastic. Songs i’m loving lately –

    “Called Out in the Dark” -Snow Patrol
    “Mercy” – Duffy

  4. katemeadows January 24, 2012 at 3:45 pm #

    I don’t think her lyrics are depressing at all. I think she’s saying she is choosing to let go of control of some of the lesser important things in life in order to make the more important things more worth holding onto. Her lyrics are inspiration, for sure. Thanks for sharing them!

Leave a Reply

