For All Those Who Love Quotes.

23 Jan

So, I don’t know how many of you have noticed, but on the right side of my blog I have a list of quotes, and sometimes I begin my blog posts with quotes (depending on the subject matter of my posts). So, I guess you could say I love quotes. I think they are a lot like song lyrics and poems in that they explain certain situations better than we often are able to as humans. Then again, quotes and lyrics were written by everyday people, but they hold a certain amount of emotion that only seems to be present in songs or poems and not everyday conversation.

Anyway, since I’m a lover of quotes, I decided to share some of my favorites:

  1. In three words I can sum up everything I’ve learned about life: it goes on.-Robert Frost
  2. If you don’t know where you’re going, any road will get you there.-Lewis Carroll
  3. We have to dare to be ourselves, however frightening or strange that self may prove to be.-Mary Sarton
  4. Do not go where the path may lead, go instead where there is no path and leave a trail.-Ralph Waldo Emerson
  5. Don’t you think it’s better to be extremely happy for a short while, even if you lose it, than to be just okay for your whole life?-Audrey Niffeneger
  6. The most wasted of all days is one without laughter.-EE Cummings
  7. Life is a daring adventure or nothing at all-Helen Keller
  8. Sometimes you have to kind of die inside in order to rise from your own ashes and believe in yourself and love yourself to become a new person.-Gerard Way
  9. Breathe. Let go. And remind yourself that this very moment is the only one you know you have for sure.-Oprah Winfrey
  10. Life is a series of natural and spontaneous changes. Don’t resist them; that only creates sorrow. Let reality be reality. Let things flow naturally forward in whatever way they like.-Lao Tzu
  11. The right thing and the easy thing are never the same.-Kami Garcia
  12. Remember that everyone you meet is afraid of something, loves something, and has lost something.-H. Jackson Brown Jr.
  13. There are no random acts. We are all connected. You can no more separate one life from another than you can separate a breeze from the wind.-Mitch Albom
  14. Life isn’t about waiting for the storm to pass. It’s about learning to dance in the rain.-Vivian Greene
  15. It doesn’t matter where you are coming from. All that matters is where you are going.-Brian Tracy
  16. Sometimes it takes a good fall to really know where you stand.-Hayley Williams
  17. Keep love in your heart. A life without it is like a sunless garden when the flowers are dead. The consciousness of loving and being loved brings a warmth and a richness to life that nothing else can bring.-Oscar Wilde
  18. Do not dwell in the past, do not dream of the future, concentrate the mind on the present moment.-Buddha
  19. When you come to the end of your rope, tie a knot and hang on.-Franklin D. Roosevelt
  20. Sometimes it’s the smallest decisions that can change your life forever.-Keri Russell

Okay, I’ll stop at 20. I hope you all enjoy these quotes as much as me.

What are some of your favorite quotes? 

11 Responses to “For All Those Who Love Quotes.”

  1. celestealluvial January 23, 2012 at 8:35 am #

    I agree with you, I am a big quote lover too. And I like these that you have chosen to post. The great thing about quotes, what makes them so special, is their ability to strike a nerve in such few words. Its taking profound thoughts and condensing them into as few words as possible to pack the most punch to the hearer. So less seems to be more in this case. Thanks for sharing your thoughts and the lovely quotes…..I enjoyed reading them! All the best, Celeste.

  2. TBM January 23, 2012 at 9:10 am #

    Great collection of quotes!

  3. The Nate Gatsby January 23, 2012 at 10:54 am #

    I have a love/hate relationship with quotes. I love them but sometimes it makes me feel strange that other people seem to be better able to put my feelings into words. And I sometimes feel jealous that I can’t make beautiful saying like they can.

  4. bo January 23, 2012 at 12:01 pm #

    “The truth will set you free. But not until it has finished with you.” – David Foster Wallace.

  5. ailialana January 23, 2012 at 1:08 pm #

    Sometimes I text short positive quotes to friends and family so they know I’m thinking of them and what they may be sporting about/facing.

  6. Katrina January 23, 2012 at 1:23 pm #

    Unconditional love is a moment in eternity and eternity in a moment

  7. Elizabeth Muehlmann January 23, 2012 at 4:14 pm #

    I love quotes! These are great. 🙂

  8. bensten January 23, 2012 at 8:15 pm #

    “Everything unimportant, falls away…”
    – Arvo Part

    The essence of simplicity and one of my favorites. Great list!

  9. Denise Gabbard January 23, 2012 at 11:16 pm #

    Do, or do not…there is no try. —Master Yoda I love quotes also, and often use one of them in my blog posts. They often make people really think, and I guess that is the point.

  10. sevenethics January 25, 2012 at 3:19 am #

    Great post! I like that you’ve intermixed some very recent and relevant quotes. Not that quotes from people who lived long ago are somehow irrelevant, but when readers actually know of the person who’s spoken the wisdom, it means more.

    Great Read!

    Follow me on Twitter: @sevenethics

    M

  11. Dale Beaulieu March 1, 2013 at 5:12 pm #

    “How could we forget those ancient myths…, about dragons that at the last moment turn into princesses. Perhaps all the dragons in our lives are princesses who are only waiting to see us act, just once, with beauty an courage. Perhaps everything that frightens us is, in its deepest essence, is something helpless that wants our love.” Rainer Maria Rilke

    ~~

    We are like children trying to find our way out of the forest of chaos. Quotes are bread crumbs fellow seekers have dropped for both their return from danger and ours. These quotes nurture. They guide. They are real sustenance. They point the way. They tell us in a dynamic, pithy way a comforting truth: another has been here, experienced this, made sunlight from the dark caverns of life’s challenging puzzles and ordeals. Most of all… they make us feel less alone. Thanks for your post. Dale Beaulieu

Leave a Reply

