How I Spent My Weekend.

22 Jan

Yesterday was a fun day. When I woke up, it was cloudy and dreary outside, so I knew I had to go do something that would boost my spirits. I decided to go watch the woman’s basketball game because 1. I love watching basketball and 2. The mom of one of my best friends, Malia, was going to be there and I wanted to meet her. It was definitely a good decision. I hadn’t watched basketball since last semester, so it was good to get back into the swing of things. Plus, it was really nice to talk with Malia’s mom and ultimately get to know Malia better. Though it did make me miss my own mom, we talk on a regular basis so it’s okay.

Anyway, after the game, me and my suitemate Ashley decided to have a movie and pizza night. After getting Papa Johns (a pizza and cheese sticks. I mean, what’s better than cheese sticks? Not much.) we settled down to watch movies. We started with Mulan because Mulan is one of my favorite Disney movies. I think it’s just because I approve of the message that explains that women can do almost everything men can. Woman power, right?! Anyway, then we watched The Guardian, which is always good since it has 2 of my favorite actors in it: Kevin Costner and Ashton Kutcher. Ah, love! Anyway, Ashley was quite mad at me after The Guardian since she hated the ending (which I can understand), but it’s SUCH a good movie. And lastly, we watched Sweeney Todd, which is just amazing. I mean, Johnny Depp + songs + fake blood and gore? Yeah, you can’t get much better than that!

Over the past few months, people have pointed out that I’m a movie buff. And I guess when you think about it, I am. I absolutely love movies, and 98% of my movies are chick flicks which annoys some people, but you never know when you’re gonna need a good cry so you might as well have some variety, right? I certainly think so. Speaking of romantic comedies, I watched Love and Other Drugs (with Anne Hathaway) a few days ago, and I actually really liked it. I had heard many bad reviews, so I wasn’t expecting it to be that good, but I enjoyed it. Except for a good bit of nudity on Anne Hathaway’s part, it was an interestingly crafted romantic comedy, meaning that I didn’t feel like it was like the rest of the romantic comedies I’ve seen. Then again, there are always similar threads in romantic comedies that you can’t really avoid, but that’s pretty much a given.

Today wasn’t as exciting as yesterday since all I really did was do a bunch of homework and do laundry. I feel like “Sunday” in college is code for: “Oh crap, I have tons of homework to do, and I need to do laundry since all my jeans are dirty.”

How did you spend your weekend? 

6 Responses to “How I Spent My Weekend.”

  1. Laura January 22, 2012 at 8:57 pm #

    I went to watch the new Underworld movie which was pretty good, I wasn’t expecting much out of it really but I didn’t dislike it. Then I cleaned. And Saturday I cleaned…and cleaned, and read.

  2. Michael Cornwall PhD LLC January 22, 2012 at 9:49 pm #

    I worked on my new book and trained interns. I can’t sit through one movie never mind three. Goodness. I think you are a movie buff. 🙂

  3. jhishan January 22, 2012 at 9:49 pm #

    worked out, read the book Walden, and downloaded oh so many apps on my iphone. =]

  4. whenpeopledontcare January 23, 2012 at 11:48 am #

    I kinda dont like Sundays too. That’s because I already smell Monday when it comes. And I’m not fond of Mondays either.

  5. ailialana January 23, 2012 at 1:20 pm #

    Redecorated and tidied up my blog space and took little Missy to the movies to see War horse. We cried our eyes out together but pretending to each other we didn’t.

Leave a Reply

