The Art Of Missing.

21 Jan

Sometimes, when one person is missing, the whole world seems depopulated.

Missing someone isn’t just an emotion. It’s an aching deep down in your soul that can only be filled by the presence of the one you miss. Since physical presence can sometimes be hard to manage, we’ve got phone calls, text messages, letters, and best of all, Skype! All those technologies allow us to connect with those we love, even if it means that we can’t see them often.

Though the art of missing someone is a sad emotion, I feel like it’s one of the strongest expressions of the human spirit (not counting love). When you miss someone, it’s not just that you want to see them. Sometimes it’s the feeling of not being fully yourself without them. It’s wanting to share with them your hopes, fears, and mundane daily activities, even if it just means that you only talk to them sporadically. And that’s better than nothing right? And even though missing someone hurts, it’s so pure. I mean, missing someone means you have someone special enough in your life to miss. It means you care. It means that even though you both are on different paths, you’re thinking of them and wishing they were there with you.

I spend a lot of time missing friends and family. Though I’ve gotten better at being attached to people, the art of missing has stayed constant or maybe grown. I just wish that all the people in my life could experience my life with me. It hurts to go through day-to-day activities without them by my side. I’ve always been told that I have immense strength, and I understand that. But the truth is, I wouldn’t be where I am today without the love and support of all the people who I spend my days missing. They are the reason I’ve thrived recently, and I have no idea what I’d do without them.

So, yes the art of missing someone is hard. But would you rather miss someone and have it hurt than never have the chance to miss them at all?

10 Responses to “The Art Of Missing.”

  1. jilllurie January 21, 2012 at 11:39 pm #

    Wow, I’m going through the exact same thing now, as two of my best friends moved today from LA to Spain. But I’ve decided that sitting in the sadness for too long isn’t good for anyone, not them or me. Maybe you could write something about the good times you’ve shared with them, or how you’ve filled the time positively since you’ve moved. I always enjoy your writing. I write poems about it, which helps give the strong emotion a place to live. It’s on the page, so I can then let it go. 🙂

    http://thenakedturtle.wordpress.com/2012/01/21/city/

    • ameliaclaire92 January 22, 2012 at 12:09 am #

      Thanks for the praises, Jill. It means a lot. And you’re right. Writing things out does help with strong emotion. I also feel lighter once the words are on the page.

  2. Katrina January 22, 2012 at 11:28 am #

    To be so young, you have a wise heart, you made me see my own “missing someone” issues from a different perspective. Thank you!

  3. whenpeopledontcare January 22, 2012 at 11:47 am #

    “Sometimes it’s the feeling of not being fully yourself without them.” So true. Great words!

  4. adalamar January 22, 2012 at 9:46 pm #

    Such a abeautiful and sad post. I know exactly what you mean. I moved very far away from my family and ebst friends for 3 years, and I missed them te whole time. I moved back to be closer to them, but there are still some people I miss. Thank you for posting.

  5. ailialana January 23, 2012 at 2:35 pm #

    Heah… I’m back! One less to miss Loll Catching up your posts and enjoying 🙂

  6. stevepmoore January 24, 2012 at 11:57 pm #

    Ten years ago I moved away from home: 12,000 miles away. My family come from the UK, and I moved to Australia. As my dad pointed out: “About as far as humanly possible away!”. It’s funny, they have come to visit now, as we are awaiting the birth of our first child. we are sitting watching the tennis, not really saying anyting, and it’s great! It’s those moments of just hanging out, not really doing anything, that I miss, which are hard to do on skype or the phone.

  7. lifeofimpact January 25, 2012 at 4:56 am #

    I think everyone who reads this post can relate. Those times that I’ve felt the deepest longing for those I love in life, I like to think that in the end I’ll be constantly surrounded by all of them all at once. Thanks for sharing this!

  8. Crystal March 30, 2014 at 11:14 am #

    I was about to write a post starting off with the art of missing before I thought to google it and see what would come up. I couldn’t have said it better myself. So I shared. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

