Photo Friday: Book Finds.

20 Jan

After yoga, I headed to Downtown Books and News and came across some great finds: Middlesex, Awakenings, and The Journals of Sylvia Plath. Downtown Books and News is a new used bookstore for me. Normally, I go to Mr. K’s Used Books, which is amazing. However, Downtown Books and News is right downtown. Plus, my walk there from where I park gives me the Asheville feel that I love. Plus, Downtown Books and News has an older feel than Mr. K’s and I think that’s why I love it. It has that incredible book smell that encompasses a place that has been the home to books for years. There are comfy chairs, which Mr. K’s does not have. And also, it’s just quieter…almost as if everyone in the bookstore is in their own book world and none of them desire to be disturbed. Plus, since Downtown Books and News doesn’t seem to be frequented as much as Mr. K’s, I feel like it’s just me and all the books. It’s just an amazing feeling.

Anyway, to the books. I’ve heard Jeffrey Eugenides is really good, and I actually was hoping to find his first book, The Virgin Suicides, but I didn’t come across that one. I did come across Middlesex though, which will give me a good taste of Eugenides’ writing style. The second author, Oliver Sacks, was actually recommended to me by my Social Psychology professor. I was looking for his book, Anthropologist on Mars, but couldn’t find it. I figured I’d enjoy Awakenings as well though, since it’s got the psychological component to it as well. My last find, The Journals of Sylvia Plath, was an exciting moment for me. I’m a HUGE fan of Sylvia Plath. Her poetry is amazing, and her novel, The Bell Jar, is one of my favorite books of all time. I’m anxious to read The Journals of Sylvia Plath and gain a better understanding of her life and the obstacles that she faced that eventually led her to commit suicide. It may sound depressing to some, but I find it fascinating. What can I say? It’s the psychologist in me!

I can’t wait to review these books for all of you, so stay tuned! 🙂

7 Responses to “Photo Friday: Book Finds.”

  1. The Nate Gatsby January 20, 2012 at 9:39 pm #

    I really loved the case studies that Sacks had in “The man who mistook his wife for a hat” but I didn’t realize Sacks had more books…hmm

  2. bluelyon January 20, 2012 at 11:28 pm #

    Is the Sylvia Plath book new? I haven’t heard of it. It doesn’t sound depressing to me at all. I read The Bell Jar in college and I love Plath’s poetry too. Another fascinating poet: Anne Sexton.

    Awakenings was turned into a movie with Robin Williams playing Oliver Sacks.

    PS – Thanks for stopping by The Neophyte Photographer and liking my latest.

    • ameliaclaire92 January 20, 2012 at 11:31 pm #

      I don’t think the Slyvia Plath book is new. I love Anne Sexton as well.
      And yeah I heard that Awakenings was turned into a movie. I haven’t seen it though.

  3. Lexie January 21, 2012 at 12:08 am #

    Ohmygoshohmygosh an oliver sacks friend for me!?! Yay! I love Oliver Sacks like my husband (strange euphemism I’m sorry) But I’m so taken in by all the incredible cases; Have you read his others, like The Man Who Mistook His Wife For A Hat? I’m just starting another one; The Anthropologist on Mars.

    • ameliaclaire92 January 21, 2012 at 11:34 am #

      I actually haven’t read anything by him before, so Awakenings will be first. And I wanted to try and find An Anthropologist on Mars, but the used bookstore I visited didn’t have it unfortunately.

  4. dianeestrella January 21, 2012 at 8:07 am #

    Sounds like some great finds. Hugs and have a super weekend! :O)

  5. Angel January 23, 2012 at 9:21 pm #

    I love Sylvia Plath! I find her life fascinating and love her writings as well. I have been wanting to get an Oliver Sacks book, but I started reading several other books and forgot to go looking for him again. 🙂

    Did you see Musical Minds on NOVA? I thought it was great. Here is the link.
    http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/nova/body/musical-minds.html

    Sorry, I get a little obsessive about books, psychology and neuroscience…just to name a few. 🙂

Leave a Reply

