Book #2 of 2012: Knit Two by Kate Jacobs.

19 Jan

Knit Two by Kate Jacobs is the second novel in the Friday Night Knitting Club series. My review for the first book of the series was actually the first book review I’ve ever done, so take a look at that one in older entries if you wish. Anyway, I was actually kinda disappointed in the second book of the series, and I think that’s because I loved the first one so much, and so I was expecting the second one to be just as good, but it wasn’t (in my opinion).

Here’s the synopsis from Amazon:

The sequel to the number-one New York Times bestseller The Friday Night Knitting Club, KNIT TWO returns to Walker and Daughter, the Manhattan knitting store founded by Georgia Walker and her young daughter, Dakota. Dakota is now an eighteen-year-old freshman at NYU, running the little yarn shop part-time with help from the members of the Friday Night Knitting Club. Drawn together by the sense of family the club has created, the knitters rely on one another as they struggle with new challenges: for Catherine, finding love after divorce; for Darwin, the hope for a family; for Lucie, being both a single mom and a caregiver for her elderly mother; and for seventy-something Anita, a proposal of marriage from her sweetheart, Marty, that provokes the objections of her grown children. As the club’s projects—an afghan, baby booties, a wedding coat—are pieced together, so is their understanding of the patterns underlying the stresses and joys of being mother, wife, daughter, and friend. Because it isn’t the difficulty of the garment that makes you a great knitter: it’s the care and attention you bring to the craft—as well as how you adapt to surprises.

Though I ached for a close group of friends like the Friday Night Knitting Club, the book itself moved a little slow, and I felt like Jacobs added fluff in places where she should have gone without it. Though the focus of the book was on the loss of Georgia Walker (the woman who was the ultimate strength of the Friday Night Knitting Club), I feel like Jacobs didn’t make the sequel as complex as she could have. I wasn’t as drawn to the characters as I had been in the first book, and I felt like the characters that I fell in love with were no longer there.

I mean, I’m sure some people enjoyed Knit Two as much as The Friday Night Knitting Club, but it just didn’t grab me as much I guess.

My next read: Room by Emma Donoghue, so stay tuned for that review. Have you read anything really good lately? I’d love some suggestions!

5 Responses to “Book #2 of 2012: Knit Two by Kate Jacobs.”

  1. The Nate Gatsby January 19, 2012 at 7:43 pm #

    Well you can’t go wrong with anything John Green.

  2. whenpeopledontcare January 19, 2012 at 9:25 pm #

    I have not read this particular book but I have the same feeling for other sequels that I have read — you know, when the first book was sooo amazing and then you get to read the second one and get really really disappointed.

    But aside from the story I also look into how the author has played with the words and had come up with a clear illustration of each scenarios. That’s another thing that I find so cool about reading books. And I’m pretty sure Jacobs has done that in Knit II, right?

    Keep posting your book reviews. Love ’em!

    • ameliaclaire92 January 19, 2012 at 10:38 pm #

      Yep, Jacobs’ writing was good, but it just wasn’t as captivating as the first book was. And thanks for the praise on my book reviews. I love posting them, so I’m glad you enjoy reading them! 🙂

  3. Becca January 19, 2012 at 10:33 pm #

    I was a tiny bit disappointed in the sequel too – probably as you say because I enjoyed the first one so much. Sometimes that happens.

    I haven’t seen anything new from this author for a while…wonder what she’s working on now?

    • ameliaclaire92 January 19, 2012 at 10:37 pm #

      I know she’s written Comfort Food, which focuses on food instead of knitting. I haven’t read it, but I’ve heard that it’s not as good as The Friday Night Knitting Club. It may depend on the reader too though.

Leave a Reply

