Change Is Coming…Ready Or Not?

18 Jan

A few years back, if I was told that certain people in my life wouldn’t be in my life now, I would have probably laughed and said: Yeah right. The thing is, time is a funny, funny thing. And time mixed with a change of location can result in you becoming a different person all together. It can help you grow into the person that you’re meant to be.

I feel like change can be positive or negative, but ultimately, it puts us face to face with our reality. And yes, maybe that reality is harsh at first. But isn’t a big part of living focused on learning how to make the best of our reality? I used to constantly think about the negative impact of things, and I guess I have yoga to thank for helping me think more positively. But I don’t think it’s always “thinking positive.” I think it also is important to realize that we’re not in complete control (though many of us would like to think so). I think it’s just important to also see that we’ve just got to try to make the best of every situation, even if that means making some hard decisions at the time. I mean, our whole lives revolve around making decisions. And yeah, we are going to make some mistakes along the way. But without mistakes, we wouldn’t be human. So we might as well make the best of it, flaws and all, right?

Life isn’t full of sunshine and rainbows. There are storms and curves in the road and lots of detours. But life wouldn’t be worth it without all the hard stuff. I mean, without hardship, we wouldn’t be able to understand the true feeling of happiness. I mean, we’d know we were happy, but there wouldn’t be a polar opposite to compare it to. Change is a big part of life, and even if we try to run from it, it’ll smack us in the face anyway. So instead of running away or fighting it, why not try to at least remain calm in the face of change. Yes, that’s way harder than it sounds, and I know. But by calming our minds, we become more aware of the world around us and are better prepared to make intellectual decisions without our judgement being clouded with fear and uncertainty. All we’ve got is right now. And change is coming. And by being aware of the coming change, we’ll feel more calm when we’re faced with difficulty in the future.

11 Responses to “Change Is Coming…Ready Or Not?”

  1. indialeigh January 18, 2012 at 11:19 pm #

    wisdom beyond your years….

  2. whenpeopledontcare January 18, 2012 at 11:56 pm #

    being aware of the coming change — so true. It as well lessens our fears and makes us ready for whatever’s ahead of us.

    I love your words 🙂

  3. Laura January 19, 2012 at 1:02 am #

    Anytime something bad is going on, I always try to stop my mind from racing to panic mode and smile instead. Even if it’s something that should have me balling my eyes out. I just try to smile and it seems to calm me down and soon realize that whatever it is will pass and then things will be OK again.

  4. takingsnaps January 19, 2012 at 1:07 am #

    Ahh, one of many little lessons in life…I wish I’d had a handbook sometimes, but at least this way it’s always surprising. As you say sometimes good and sometimes not so. Being positive is definately a plus!

  5. burningtorchproductions January 19, 2012 at 1:45 am #

    Great point! Something that is relevant to everyone whether we like it or not.

  6. adalamar January 19, 2012 at 1:47 am #

    I love this and it is so true! Thank you so much for sharing. 🙂

  7. The Nate Gatsby January 19, 2012 at 5:38 am #

    I really don’t like change that much. I’m glad you have a better perspective on it than I do. It is probably for the best that you think change is both good and bad and not just one of those.

  8. bajamerson January 19, 2012 at 5:19 pm #

    Couldn’t be truer words! Loved this!

  9. jilllurie January 19, 2012 at 11:41 pm #

    I love what you say about making the best of things. We can’t control every situation but we can control how we react/deal with it. Thank you!

  10. bluebee January 21, 2012 at 1:59 am #

    Oh yes, that’s a certainty

Leave a Reply

