A Recipe: Spicy Garbanzo Bean Soup.

11 Jan

So, I know I said that today I’d tell all of you how my first day of work was yesterday, but I have something better to share today (even though my first day of work WAS fun)! Last night, when I went to the cafeteria for dinner, I saw that there was a spicy garbanzo bean soup/stew. I am a huge fan of spicy foods, so I decided to give it a go! I definitely wasn’t disappointed. Really, it was so good. I even went back for a second helping (which hardly happens since I usually like to get back to my room and start on homework.

Anyway, since I was so amazed at the spicy garbanzo bean soup, I decided to go hunting on the net to see if I could find a similar recipe. I’m not exactly sure what all was in the recipe I had last night, but I found one that seems close, and so I decided to share it with all of you (courtesy of my.hearthealthyonline.com)

Ingredients

  • large onion, chopped (1 cup)
  • medium red sweet pepper, chopped (3/4 cup)
  • cloves garlic, minced
  • teaspoons olive oil
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon paprika
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 14 ounce can reduced-sodium chicken broth
  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • 15 ounce can garbanzo beans, rinsed and drained
  • 10 ounce package frozen whole kernel corn (2 cups)
  • medium tomatoes, chopped (2 cups)
  • tablespoons snipped fresh cilantro

Directions

In a 3- to 4-quart saucepan or Dutch oven cook onion, sweet pepper, and garlic in hot oil over medium-high heat about 4 minutes or until onion is tender, stirring occasionally. Stir in cumin, paprika, and cayenne pepper; cook and stir for 1 minute.

Carefully add the chicken broth, water, beans, corn, and tomatoes. Bring to boiling; reduce heat. Simmer, covered, for 20 minutes. Ladle into serving bowls. Sprinkle with cilantro.

Prep Time: 20 minutes.

Cook Time: 20 minutes.

Though I haven’t made this particular recipe, I decided to share it with all of you in case you felt inclined to try to make it. Feel free to add more or less of certain ingredients too. And if you do go for it, let me know the verdict! I want to try and make it when I’ve got some time, but as of right now with classes starting back and starting my job, I don’t exactly have tons of free time to experiment in the kitchen.

8 Responses to “A Recipe: Spicy Garbanzo Bean Soup.”

  1. Laura January 11, 2012 at 2:32 pm #

    sounds good! I love garbanzo beans!

  2. Errign January 11, 2012 at 5:41 pm #

    I love chickpeas! Mmmmmm.

    • ameliaclaire92 January 11, 2012 at 6:32 pm #

      The soup was AMAZING, Errign! If you had been here, you would’ve lovedddd it! 🙂

  3. Kay aka Babygirl January 11, 2012 at 6:13 pm #

    I just love a great bean soup recipe. It’s so comforting .. especially since I live in NYC. I love this Spicy Garbanzo Bean Soup recipe. Thanks for sharing this

    • ameliaclaire92 January 11, 2012 at 6:33 pm #

      Glad you like it. If you end up trying this recipe, let me know what you think. 🙂

  4. TBM January 12, 2012 at 6:45 am #

    That does sound good! And I’m glad your first day at work was good.

  5. Shoeless January 12, 2012 at 9:55 am #

    Sounds really good. I actually just made a veggie Vindaloo last night in the slow cooker. When balancing school and work the crock pot is your friend! 🙂 Big batch on Sunday nights and left overs for the rest of the week!

  6. timmy January 12, 2012 at 12:51 pm #

    sounds indianeyy,,i love it 🙂 lets hope mum will cook it x

Leave a Reply

