The Start Of Something New.

8 Jan

It’s here…the start of a new semester. Well, almost. The first day of classes of the spring semester begins tomorrow. Though I had a nice break, I’m ready for classes to start back. I’m ready to continue my journey in Asheville, and I look forward to meeting more people and getting deeper into my majors (Psychology and Journalism). This semester will be more focused on my majors than last semester, and I can’t wait to see what it brings. I’ll be taking Social Psychology, Research Methods II, Newspaper Workshop, Intro to Mass Communication (Media Ethics), and Humanities 124. I’m most excited for Social Psych and the Newspaper Workshop!

I remember the days when I hated the thought of going back to school. I was in high school (before going to Salem), and I disliked my school and the people there. I loved some of my teachers, and I think that’s the reason that I stuck it out there for so long. But then, I don’t know. It’s like a lightbulb switched on in my mind and said, “Hey, what are you doing here if you’re not happy?” So I went to Salem for my junior and senior years of high school, and things were so much different. I made great friends, and I got a really amazing education.

It wasn’t until this year of college (my sophomore year) that I actually got excited for classes to start. I think it’s for a myriad of reasons though. The first of which is because I’m happy overall at UNC Asheville, and I think the second is because the majority of my classes are part of my majors, which I love to learn about. Since tomorrow is the first day of classes of the semester, today is being spent preparing for a new semester. I got my books yesterday, but today I need to prepare my binders and clean up my room, not to mention making sure I know where all of my classes are. It’s all exciting though!

I can’t wait for this semester to start. Normally new things and changes make me nervous, but I think there comes a time when we’ve got to either face the changes or shrink away from them. I remember the days when it was second nature for me to shrink because I was nervous or scared. And yes, sometimes I’m still nervous to face changes, but no matter how we feel, we’ve still got to face them right? And if we’ve got to experience them, we might as well face them head on. And the great thing is that most of the time we’re not alone in changes. Often times, if we look around us we can see that there are others facing the changes too. So why not face the changes together? Often the simple realization that we’re not alone in things gives us the push we need to face things head on.

8 Responses to “The Start Of Something New.”

  1. marymforbes January 8, 2012 at 2:11 pm #

    What a beautiful picture.

  2. ShimonZ January 9, 2012 at 4:57 am #

    Wishing you continuous interest throughout the semester, and much happiness in your studies.

  3. TBM January 9, 2012 at 9:28 am #

    Good luck! I hope you enjoy!

  4. belasbrightideas January 9, 2012 at 1:01 pm #

    I love the choices that college gave me, especially since I returned years later as an adult learner. I hated the confusion and social competition of a large high school, so am glad you changed course mid-stream if it was not working out for you.

    Glad you are looking forward to your studies! Love learning – yeah!

  5. alliecocoa January 9, 2012 at 11:31 pm #

    Even though a new semester brings a fresh start, I always feel so nervous and I have no idea why. I’m not really in love with my college ( only went there because I got a full scholarship) so you should feel very lucky that you actually enjoy your school environment. I’m just counting down the days until I graduate! What year are you?

    • ameliaclaire92 January 10, 2012 at 9:18 am #

      I’m a sophomore. I’m sorry you’re not happy with where you are. I know that feeling well.

  6. ~LuminousfootPrints~ January 18, 2012 at 11:21 pm #

    I wish you luck hun, my semester starts next Friday and I still haven’t finished up these scholarship essays 😦 But I’m still excited

Leave a Reply

