First Photo Friday.

6 Jan

As part of some changes I’m making with my blog, I’ve decided to incorporate “photo Friday” where every Friday I share a photograph along with the story behind the photograph or what it makes me think of. So, here’s the first photo of Photo Friday. Enjoy!

This photograph was taken of the fall leaves on UNC Asheville’s campus back in October. Fall has always been one of my favorite seasons. I’ve just always loved the pretty fall colors. This was the first year that I’ve never had to “travel” to see the fall leaves. Of course, we get fall in South Carolina, but not like fall in the Blue Ridge Mountain areas. The colors just pop more, and they’re more vibrant. Therefore, I loved not having to go anywhere else to enjoy my favorite seasons. I was able to just take a walk around campus to get the full effect, and that was great.

The season of fall has always symbolized change, and as I consider that, I think of all the changes that have occurred recently. I’ve changed schools (and am much happier), I’ve made some amazing friends, I’ve found my love of writing again, and best of all, I get to live in the mountains. I couldn’t imagine anything better. Throughout my childhood, my family and I would always vacation to the mountains. Rather than the beach, we headed for the crisp mountain air and the curvy mountain roads. I always loved the trips, and to this day, we still roll down to windows as we’re entering the small mountain town of Saluda in order to breathe in the air. It’s kind of a tradition, and I couldn’t imagine things any other way. During those trips, I always felt most at home in the mountains. I don’t know what it is about the mountains that make them have a sense of magic, but they do. The mountains are quieter. They calm your mind and allow you to think through all of the things that have been pressing on your mind recently. They help you to take notice of what’s around you, rather than focusing the majority of your energy on yourself. My favorite magical aspect though is how the mountains just seem to help you get rid of your worries. I don’t know if it’s the air or the mountain landscape, but it’s magical. And I’m so happy that I am able to go to school in such a magical place. Granted, there are certainly times when I’m unhappy, but once I can take a walk around campus and take note of the beauty around me, all my stresses seem to become just a little bit smaller.

Is there a certain place or type of landscape where you feel most at “home”? If so, why is that the case (i.e. what makes it special)? 

 

7 Responses to “First Photo Friday.”

  1. TBM January 6, 2012 at 1:43 pm #

    I love the mountains, especially the Tetons in Wyoming. We went there every year when I was a child and it is one of the most beautiful places I’ve seen.

  2. marymforbes January 6, 2012 at 2:05 pm #

    A beautiful photo. Ranch country and horses are nice pictures to me. TBM – I agree I like the mountains too.

  3. sharonfadale January 6, 2012 at 3:50 pm #

    That’s a beautiful photo! I love the oranges and yellows that you see in the fall colors! In Los Angeles, we don’t really get the good fall colors – it’s just not a season that truly reveals itself here.

    For me, I’m drawn to the beach. Something about the intensity of the waves and the pure size of the ocean helps me gain perspective.

  4. Judy January 6, 2012 at 5:26 pm #

    It’s hard for me to pinpoint just one place! I love the mountains….the Tetons hold a special place in my heart…the way they just push out of the ground with no foothills. Yet I also love the Blue Ridge and Smokey mountains and Glacier NP and the US and Canadian Rockies. Mountains have such majesty and take my breath away.
    I love the ocean for different reasons, of course. But it can be very peaceful. I love a stream bubbling and gurgling along the rocks and ferns. Gosh….I’m rambling. So sorry! 😉 Love your photo too!

  5. Stephen Zawodzinski January 7, 2012 at 12:05 am #

    The mountains hold some sort of power over me also. I was born and raised (until age 12) in the mountains of New Mexico and I have never been able to shake their power.

    The desert/Mediterranean climate is also unbelievably beautiful to me as well, for similar reasons as stated above. I guess that’s why the Southwest is one of my two favorite regions of the USA and the Mediterranean is my favorite area in Europe.

    Fall is also my favorite season! : )

  6. Katrina January 7, 2012 at 11:14 am #

    I currently live in New Mexico (high desert, elevation 7500-10000 feet, sage brush and cactus), but I’m originally from the Appalachian Mountains. The only things I miss about my home state (West Virginia) is the trees in fall and all the green and flowers in the spring and summer. Thanks for the photo, it reminds me of my childhood.

  7. ShimonZ January 8, 2012 at 4:35 am #

    The mountains do have much to offer, and I share your delight in them, having lived all my life on a mountain, here in Jerusalem. That is a very nice picture of the beauties of fall. I imagine there are wonderful aspects to each season. How nice for you to be in the atmosphere of study and learning.

Leave a Reply

