Sunday’s Snapshots.

2 Jan

My brother and I spent New Years Day at Isle of Palms with our uncle and his girlfriend (and her kids), and it was definitely an amazing way to start off the new year. It was an early start to the day, but it was worth it. Our first adventure was going to the Polar Plunge on Sullivan’s Island, where people dress up crazy and all run into the ocean during December. It was interesting to see all the different outfits that people wore. The outfits ranged from superhero outfits to a man covered straw-type grass (and he ended up blending in with the dunes). Anyway, it was fun to see all the crazy outfits. My uncle ended up plunging into the water before everyone else (since we knew that if we left with the rest of the crowd it’d take us 45 minutes to an hour to get off of Sullivan’s Island.

We then took my uncle’s boston whaler to go hunting for shark’s teeth. My brother is a big shark’s teeth hunter, but I had never been a fan since the teeth were always so hard to find (since you need good eyes to spot them). Surprisingly, I found a really pretty shark’s tooth as I was just lounging on the sandbar, and so then I decided to actually get up and look for some shark’s teeth (since the one I found was the first one I’ve ever found, so I was excited). I ended up finding a total of 8 shark’s teeth. I was excited that I actually had some luck with finding them.

We left the sandbar once the sun started going down because the dimmer light makes it harder to find shark’s teeth. I was looking forward to getting some photographs of the sunset (since sunset shots are my favorite). And sunset shots on the water are even better! The above shot was taken just as the sun was sitting right in the middle of a bridge that we crossed under. And the shot below was taken a few minutes after. We ended up having to turn the boat around multiple times so that I could get more sunset shots. After a while though I just had to tell myself that I’d taken enough, even though I felt like my camera was begging to take pictures of the gorgeous sunset.

11 Responses to “Sunday’s Snapshots.”

  1. Don Carnagey~Lanier January 2, 2012 at 8:44 pm #

    Very beautiful pictures…

  2. ShimonZ January 2, 2012 at 11:46 pm #

    I would love to see a photo of the shark teeth.

  3. tootlepedal January 3, 2012 at 7:10 am #

    Hence the expression “as rare as sharks’ teeth”. Lovely photographs.

  4. byroisinhealy January 3, 2012 at 9:41 am #

    Gorgeous pictures! Makes me want to travel 🙂

  5. conspiracyofravens January 3, 2012 at 4:06 pm #

    Definitely want to see the shark’s teeth. Nice photos!

  6. thekreativecorner January 3, 2012 at 8:21 pm #

    Gotta love those Carolina skies ! Beautiful photos.

  7. Nick January 4, 2012 at 2:59 am #

    beautiful sunset!

  8. valzone January 4, 2012 at 11:50 am #

    These are super shots Amelia, I’m just browsing your blogs, and enjoying the journey, you have a great talent, and not just with the camera.
    Val

Leave a Reply

