Why I Want To Become A Counselor.

1 Jan

I’ve been receiving counseling for 4+ years, and even though it’s been a long road of looking inward and facing past experiences that I kept buried for many years, I’m slowly getting to the point where I can stand again. I’ve come so far in 4 years, and even though there is still a lot that I need to work through, I’m feeling good about everything. In the beginning, I didn’t really know what to expect of counseling. I was nervous, unsure, and scared. I didn’t like the thought of telling a perfect stranger extremely personal things about myself. But then, after a while, it hit me. What could be better? What could be better than sharing your feelings with a stranger and having them be able to give you sound advice that is non-judgemental? I think that’s what draws me to counseling the most (in terms of being a client and wanting it as a career). I love the fact that counselors don’t judge. I mean, yes it’s a law (so to speak), but it’s such a comforting feeling. Knowing that whatever I tell a counselor won’t be judged or ridiculed.

I want to help people with their problems, plain and simple. I want to reassure people that they don’t have to face things alone. No one said that asking for help was wrong. Often times, it may be the right choice. I want to be able to connect with people, while also using my personal experiences to help others. I’ve been through a lot (as have most people). I had a pretty rough childhood (in terms of growing up with Cerebral Palsy…which includes direct experiences of CP and then people’s reactions in general towards me). I’ve felt the pain of being teased, stared at, pointed at….just the difficulties that come with being different. And being different as a teenager is just a whole other hurdle to jump over. I’ve made it through though. I’ve come out on the other side. I can look back and say, “Yeah, those years were hell-ish, but I kicked ass.” My main hope is to be able to help other adolescents who struggle. Yes, the teenage years are hard. But I want to try to make teens understand that they can and will make it through, especially those who are “different.”

I’ve had a really incredible support system my entire life, including family members, friends and  physical therapists, many of whom I still keep up with today. Without that support system, I would’ve had an even rougher time as a teen. And then I think of the teenagers who may not have a very strong support system. Those teens who are different and know that they don’t “fit in,” but still don’t have someone to turn to. I want those people to know that they can turn to me. I want to be able to help them face the obstacles that come with being different and just the obstacles of adolescence. There are a lot of them, but they can be overcome. It’s not easy, and it takes time, but it can happen.

I’ve had some counseling practice other the past few years through some friends who’ve had some difficulties or have just needed someone to talk to, and I think that initial practice is what has solidified counseling for me (as a future career). After I’m able to help friends through difficult times, I feel good. I’m happy knowing that I may have had a positive impact on their life. I’m glad that something I said might have touched them or made them feel better. That feeling…the feeling of helping people..it’s unlike anything I’ve ever felt. It’s like a really big hug at the end of a day. Full of love and thanks….wrapped up in one nice little package. Granted, I won’t be able to help everyone, and I understand that. But I’ve got to at least offer my help to those who want it or ask for it. There’s no way I could walk away from that. I’ve got to at least try, because after all, I may be the only support they’ve got.

13 Responses to “Why I Want To Become A Counselor.”

  1. Alexandra January 1, 2012 at 10:49 pm #

    ” I want to reassure people that they don’t have to face things alone.”

    That is the mindset that saved my life. If I continued to suffer alone, I wouldn’t be alive to tell the tale. God bless you, and I hope you can fulfill your dream of becoming a hero in the lives of suffering souls.

    Happy new year,
    Alexandra

    • ameliaclaire92 January 2, 2012 at 8:03 pm #

      Thank you so much, Alexandra. I’m glad that it helped you. It’s why I want to go into the field after all. 🙂

  2. My perfectly imbalanced life January 2, 2012 at 12:34 am #

    I think this is a really beautiful post; but I feel I have to say that I’ve seen people go into this career with the exact same mindset as you, and sometimes it becomes just inevitable that you begin to feel responsible for those who can’t or wont get better, or having so many problems piled onto you just overwhelming. I don’t know why, I just felt like being a real mother hen and putting that out there. There will be hard times; but in the long run, I defiantly think it’s worth it. Good luck, and happy new year!

  3. A Woman and Her Pen January 2, 2012 at 8:17 am #

    Happy 2012!

    I enjoyed your post via wanting to become a counselor. I am currently a drug and alcohol counselor BUT really now see myself as a High School Guidance Counselor.

    That is my next career move so say a prayer for me as I will for you!

    Blessings and Beyond!
    V.D. Coleman

  4. jkvegh January 2, 2012 at 9:01 am #

    Bravo Amelia! As a “counselor” though I call myself a psychotherapist, I want to point out the fact that you are doing work on yourself, which puts you way ahead of most other people who join this field. My advice to all new initiates is that if they haven’t done any work on themselves, they need to before going into this field and working as a professional with your first client. Your personal issues, if they were left untouched, would ruin your career faster than anything else. Its amazing that many people in this profession are afraid to even consider this. So you have made a running start. The other point of interest, which you might not have realized is that working with a counselor is confidential. Talking to your friends is NOT. Also the professional knows how to guide you through your experience and help you come to some personal decisions, whereas a friend would not be able to. If you ever have any questions about the profession, feel free to email me. Also, I would recommend joining linkedin and once there getting on some psychology groups. Lots of students come on there and ask questions to the other professionals.

    • ameliaclaire92 January 2, 2012 at 7:57 pm #

      Thank you for the compliment. And yes, I am aware that working with a counselor is confidential. Over the past few years, I’ve come to some personal realizations by myself. At first it was a strange feeling, but then it just showed me that it’s because of the counselor in me that I’m able to self-analyze. And thank you for being available to ask questions and for the recommendation of linkedin. I haven’t thought of that before!

  5. jilllurie January 2, 2012 at 12:00 pm #

    Your blog and honest writing is also a wonderful form of counseling!

  6. Louise January 3, 2012 at 5:00 am #

    God Bless you, indeed. Wishing you all the best on your chosen career path…I’m sure you’ll be wonderful and a great source of help to many people. I think my counsellor saved my life (and I’m not exaggerating) 😉 Thank you for stopping by my blog and a very Happy New Year to you 🙂

  7. frenchperspective January 3, 2012 at 7:08 am #

    ” I’ve been through a lot (as have most people)”
    One sentence that really proves you’d be a good counselor, a proof of humility that most people don’t have, and one of the most important things to keep in mind when helping someone.

  8. Got my book January 4, 2012 at 3:03 pm #

    This really touched me.. I’ve also been in counseling for a couple of years and it truly is one of the best things I’ve ever done. I got to know myself and was able to understand my way of responding to different situations..

    I have also been thinking of becoming a councelor lately or maybe teaching – I want to work with people. I feel I’ve got a lot to give because I’ve learned that it doesn’t matter What you’re struggling with – we all struggle in one way or another and no trouble or inner pain is to be looked down upon.

    So your post was really inspiring – reading about someone with the same thoughts and feelings 🙂

  9. Lisa W. Rosenberg January 5, 2012 at 11:16 pm #

    I think you have a gift, not only for words, but for empathy and caring. It sounds like what you’ve lived through so far has opened your eyes and heart.
    As a psychotherapist (L.C.S.W.) myself, it sounds like you have the makings of a great one. Follow your dreams, whether songwriting or counseling!

    Lisa

    • ameliaclaire92 January 5, 2012 at 11:47 pm #

      Thank you for your support and encouragement, Lisa. It means a lot. 🙂

Leave a Reply

