The Irony Of New Years’ Resolutions.

31 Dec

When I think of people making resolutions when a new year comes, I sometimes chuckle. If you want to change something about yourself, try to do it. Waiting until a new year doesn’t really change much. It just means that things that you didn’t change (or tried to but couldn’t) will be carried into another year. To me, a new year is mainly just changing the year on a calendar. Often we carry most things with us from year to year. Though we often say we’re going to leave certain behaviors or feelings behind, it doesn’t always work out that way.

I just feel like if you want to make changes, go for it. Right when you feel it. Waiting is not necessarily a good thing. Waiting can allow your mind to think of so many reasons to not make certain changes. Maybe the change you’re trying to make is too hard or too expensive or not drastic enough etc. But you know what? It’s your life. You can make whatever decisions you want. Change…..don’t change, it’s really up to you. But….if a few weeks down the line you break a “resolution” or change you’ve vowed to make, don’t blame it on others. It’s all you.

I’ve never been one for resolutions partly because I feel like I make a variety of changes throughout the year (emotionally and having new experiences). I’ve found that waiting brings out all the uncertainty that I’ve found in myself and brings the fear of failure to the surface. So…I’ve realized that I’ve got to beat the waiting and just get on with things.

Changes I’ve made this year (not as resolutions):

  • Changed colleges
  • Fixed some relationships with certain family members
  • Rediscovered my love of writing
  • Made new friends
  • Found yoga as a hobby

I just find it ironic that so many people wait until a new year to make changes in their lives. After all, what’s wrong with starting to improve your life not tomorrow but TODAY?

11 Responses to “The Irony Of New Years’ Resolutions.”

  1. ihavetheperfectlife December 31, 2011 at 9:27 am #

    Love this post! Real change… and transformation… takes hard work… time…. and commitment… things most people rarely think about when making the once a year resolutions… Keep up the great writing! ~Ann

  2. Laura December 31, 2011 at 11:56 am #

    I’m so terrible at following through on resolutions that I rarely even make them.

  3. Deanna Schrayer December 31, 2011 at 1:05 pm #

    Amen! Great post Amelia, and I can easily see why journalism and psychology are your majors. How fortunate you are too, (in my opinion), to be living in one of the most beautiful places in our country – I’m about two and a half hours away from Asheville, and love it.
    I look forward to learning more from you.

    • ameliaclaire92 December 31, 2011 at 1:11 pm #

      Thank you so much! And yes, I absolutely LOVE Asheville. I couldn’t imagine being anywhere different.

  4. tuulenhaiven December 31, 2011 at 2:09 pm #

    I completely agree! I actually have been making some big life changes recently, and they certainly weren’t part of any resolutions I might have envisioned at the beginning of 2011! When it was time for a change I just dove in head first. It’s been working out well so far. 🙂

    Best wishes for what the new year brings you!

  5. My perfectly imbalanced life January 2, 2012 at 12:44 am #

    Oh, please please tell me about Yoga. I’m desperate to start but I’m hopeless at it. I know people say ‘everyone can do yoga’ but it’s not true, I swear. Every time I sit down my thoughts explode, and I keep having thoughts, then sub thoughts, then two thoughts at one time, it’s insane!

    I agree with your opinion of New Years Resolutions, but I also struggle with the concept of ‘doing things now.’ I always say ‘I’ll get better in the holidays. Or 2012. Or Christmas. Or when I go on a Camping Trip.’ It’s never today, tomorrow, or right now. New Years Resolutions perhaps give people a comfort in thinking ‘It’s a fresh page, the past is officially the past, I’m not the person I was last year.’ But in truth; your the exact same person as last year, with the exact same past, the exact same goals and troubles. Just because it’s now monday not sunday, doesn’t change the world.

    • ameliaclaire92 January 2, 2012 at 8:02 pm #

      I understand what you mean about having all the thoughts bouncing around in your head. I think that’s something that all new yoga people have to learn to conquer. I have been able to block out thoughts through concentrating completely on my breathing and the feeling of my body as it relaxes. It takes time to master.

  6. abyby25 January 2, 2012 at 2:24 am #

    I agree! It’s like Anais Nin said, “I made no resolutions for the new year. The habit of making plans, of criticizing, sanctioning, and molding my life, is too much of a daily event for me.”

  7. Pavitra January 5, 2012 at 5:51 am #

    Hey. Thanks for stopping by my blog. I’m with you on the irony of making resolutions on New Years. I don’t remember having ever made one.. but I do keep making “to-do” lists through the year. They just seem more doable! 🙂

  8. Camerahappy January 7, 2012 at 8:15 pm #

    Beautiful, where was that taken?

Leave a Reply

