Two Book Reviews + 15 Books That Are No Longer Homeless.

30 Dec

On Christmas Eve, my grandparents informed me that they had a ton of books that they were planning to get rid of and said that I could take as many as I wanted. See, my grandparents have A LOT of books. They have a floor to ceiling bookshelf in their room that is packed with books, and there are at least 15-20 piles of books sitting on the floor in front of the bookshelf. So, the fact that my grandparents decided they needed to get rid of all the books that they rarely looked at was a feat in itself. Though I understood that they had more books than they had space for, the thought of giving books away made my heart hurt a little. But when I was told that I could have as many as I wanted, I was grinning from ear to ear. I then plopped myself into the floor and began scanning through the boxes of books, deciding which books I wanted to bring home with me. The books I chose were all ones that I have never read (except for a hardback Nicholas Sparks book that I just couldn’t part with). Anyway, after about 20 minutes I emerged from my grandparents’ bedroom with a bag of 15 books. I’m proud that I could save these 15 books from being neglected, and I can’t wait to read them!

A few days ago, I started reading Whistling In The Dark by Lesley Kegan. Unfortunately, this book wasn’t as good as I’d hoped. I only made it to page 38 before I had to just give up. Normally, I can push myself through books, but I feel like this one moved way too slow for me. The author spent 30 pages talking about something that I knew within a minute from reading the synopsis on the back of the book. If I would’ve stuck with it, maybe the pace of the book would’ve picked up, but I wasn’t grabbed from the beginning, and that was a big drawback.

When I went to my grandparents house on Christmas Eve, I asked my grandfather if he had anything by Dostoyevsky, and he brought back this, Three Short Novels (Notes From Underground, Poor People, and The Friend of the Family) by Fyodor Dostoyevsky. I just started reading Notes From Underground this morning, and I love it so far! I forgot until recently how amazing Dostoyevsky is at writing psychological novels. I discovered my love for Dostoyevsky through my AP English class in high school. We read Crime and Punishment, and even though it took a little while to get into it, once I was hooked, I couldn’t get enough. Also, it was the first time I had ever read a Russian author, so that was exciting. I loved being able to feel like I was inside Raskolnikov’s head, while also feeling the emotion of a character who slowly loses his mind through committing murder. I mean, doesn’t that sound amazing? Okay, maybe not. But to the day, Crime and Punishment is still one of my favorite books, and I’m eager to read more works by Dostoyevsky to be able to gain a better understanding of his writing style.

Have you read anything really good recently? 

10 Responses to “Two Book Reviews + 15 Books That Are No Longer Homeless.”

  1. Laura December 30, 2011 at 1:51 pm #

    This reminds me of my grandfather, he had a study and on 2 of 4 walls there was floor to ceiling bookshelves and as a kid I used to spend so much time in there looking thru his books. He even had ones from the 1800’s , it was so cool. My freaking dad lost them ALL and it really pisses me off. but now its my goal to have an awesome bookshelf like that!

  2. Cassandra December 30, 2011 at 2:24 pm #

    I’ve had Notes from Undeground on my “treasure hunt” list for years – I only buy books second hand so I figure each book comes to me at the perfect time. Still no luck with that one.
    I did just finish reading Dostoyevsky’s The Idiot which was really good… but not as good as Crime and Punishment, which is still one of my favourite books of all-time too.

  3. bluebee December 30, 2011 at 4:29 pm #

    “the thought of giving books away made my heart hurt a little” – I know what you mean. We recently had a huge book cleanout but i gave most to the local library, so they’re not too far away 🙂 This year I was forced to read some Young Adult fiction books for a university course and found that I really loved many of the books. The two that stood out for me were The Fireaters by David Almond and The Red Shoe by Ursula Dubosarsky.

  4. Bryan December 30, 2011 at 6:31 pm #

    I’m reading Tea Obreht’s “The Tiger’s Wife.” I love it so far.

  5. Dr. Angela Kowitz Orobko December 30, 2011 at 11:55 pm #

    I totally enjoyed reading your post Amelia; thank you for liking mine on Nurture. I HAVE A LOVE AFFAIR with books. I have so many books; and, now with my kindle, I am in heaven!!! I just finished reading Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter by Tom Franklin (2010). If I am not mistaken, this is Tom Franklin’s second novel, which is set in (you guessed it) M-I-crooked-letter-crooked-letter-I-S-S-I-P-P-I (Mississippi). You like psychological novels, this book has a psychological flavor about it. I am currently reading several non-fiction books. I will keep you posted.

  6. JamieRene January 1, 2012 at 2:10 am #

    Yes! Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides. I loved The Virgin Suicides, but this may in fact be an even greater stroke of brilliance. Bizzare and brilliant. Couldn’t put it down.

  7. thenotwriter January 2, 2012 at 9:33 pm #

    I love books. I imagine my house will be like your grandparents house when I get older. I already have bookshelves overflowing with more books then they can hold.

    Im always disappointed when I start a book I really think Im gonna enjoy and it turns out to not hold my interest. I have dozens of books with bookmarks two or three chapters in that I havent touched in years. I should probly donate them, but I have a deep emotional attachment to my books. It would be like giving away my children. Harder even, since my books dont steal my money and tell me they hate me.

  8. Stephen Zawodzinski January 3, 2012 at 12:42 am #

    So, I’ve been hooked on A Song of Fire and Ice by George R.R. Martin- which is really good- but my favorite books of all time are:

    1. the Tales of the Otori series by Lian Hearn

    2. anything by Jasper Fforde

    3. Anything by Isabel Allende

    Also, if you like Russian literature, Tolstoy is awesome- War and Peace is a long read, but it’s worth it. : )

  9. rdopping January 8, 2012 at 3:30 pm #

    Try The Flinch. It’s free (even better). Get it here http://theviewfromhere.ca/2011/12/07/flinch-a-solid-punch-in-the-face/
    It’s short, fun and offers an interesting take on life.

Leave a Reply

