Losing Myself In The Stacks.

28 Dec

When I enter libraries or bookstores, I enter my own world. My first instinct is to find a book I want to read and then go to the farthest corner of the bookstore or library and sit down, blocking out everything but the book I hold in my hands. For as long as I can remember, reading has been a love and an escape. When I read, I lose myself. I am drawn into the book and away from reality. The world around me, the stacks and stacks of books….they melt away. They melt away until it’s just me and the book I’m holding. Many times, the books I read explain certain emotions better than I could even attempt. I think that’s what so magic about books or music. It takes a sentence or a song lyric, and the emotion that you’re looking for or running from is right there…staring you in the face so hard that you have to look away.

Certain emotions that books evoke within us can be dear friends or unwelcome demons. Either way, they are present. And maybe the fact that books can bring up certain emotions are reason enough to try to face them. It’s never easy to face pain or fear or heartbreak or failure. But is it any easier running away from it? Everyone knows the phrase, “you can run, but you can’t hide,” and it’s applicable in this situation too. Yes, it’s possible to run from certain feelings that you don’t want to face, but sooner or later they’ll catch up to you. And it’s far better to face them head on than having them catch up to you once the fire inside you that has kept you running for so long has burned out, right?

There’s nothing wrong with feeling emotion. If you need to cry, let the tears fall. If you want to laugh, throw back your head and let it out. If you want to scream, let the sound be heard in the treetops. Though the opinions of others often have an effect on other people’s actions, don’t let people hold you back from really living. All those emotions….the tears, the laughs, the smiles, the screams….they’re all signs. Signs of life. Embrace them. Let them have the ability to remind you that you’re living.

Next time you’re in a library or bookstore, grab a book you’ve been wanting to read and head to a spot at the farthest corner. The emotions within you are only a page turn away, and they’re waiting to be released. 

15 Responses to “Losing Myself In The Stacks.”

  1. bluebee December 28, 2011 at 6:20 pm #

    To be able to regularly shut out everything and absorb ourselves in the highs and lows of a good read is a luxury we should all gift to ourselves. Lovely post.

  2. Laura December 28, 2011 at 7:04 pm #

    I love doing the same! I really love books – I’ve set a goal for myself to read 10 books in January ….. Dunno if I can but I am going to try!

  3. jilllurie December 28, 2011 at 9:37 pm #

    What a great post! I totally feel the same way about books, and wrote about it a couple months ago: http://thenakedturtle.wordpress.com/2011/10/28/folowing-breadcrumbs-and-the-pusuit-of-pleasure/

  4. Judy December 29, 2011 at 1:13 am #

    I could live in the stacks!!
    I wanted to let you know I nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award….congrats!
    http://jayjaysfavorites.wordpress.com/2011/12/29/the-versatile-blogger-award/

  5. Holly J December 29, 2011 at 8:09 am #

    “Either way, they are present.”

    So true. I always find myself depressed after I finish a really good book. It’s similar to the feeling of saying good-bye to an old friend.

    • ameliaclaire92 December 29, 2011 at 10:59 am #

      I know exactly what feeling you mean. I always hate when I finish a book. But yet, there are so many other books to pick up, so the sadness doesn’t have to last forever.

  6. amira December 29, 2011 at 10:27 am #

    I can hide in a library and never come out 🙂
    but these days i should be wireless LESS to really get of the network … and enjoy a book 🙂

    • ameliaclaire92 December 29, 2011 at 11:00 am #

      Yeah, but even with the presence of the internet, the pull I get from books to read them is just so much stronger. 🙂

  7. Jennifer Triplett December 29, 2011 at 11:41 am #

    This is so well said. I couldn’t agree more about books and music. You can take yourself to a different world!

  8. RDoug December 30, 2011 at 1:34 pm #

    About the only thing I enjoy more than reading and watching movies is writing. Love creating characters and putting them into situations.

  9. studiolightblue December 31, 2011 at 8:58 pm #

    Thanks for stopping by my blog…

    you know what else I love about bookstores?

    The smell.

    That probably sounds a little strange but it has a very strong emotional attachment for me – in a good way!

    Have a great day!
    Happy New Year!

    Lee

    • ameliaclaire92 December 31, 2011 at 9:02 pm #

      No…that doesn’t sound strange at all. I love the smell too!

  10. laudu January 3, 2012 at 9:41 am #

    As a fellow book lover, I appreciate this post. Thanks for stopping by my blog earlier as well. Happy New Year to you!

  11. Dounia January 6, 2012 at 1:27 pm #

    I really enjoyed reading this post as I could truly relate to everything you wrote. Seeing as you love books clearly as much as I do, you might like a post I wrote a few months ago…

    http://tcknextstop.wordpress.com/2011/08/15/books-a-love-story/

    Let me know what you think! I look forward to reading more of your blog and seeing more of your lovely pictures.

Leave a Reply

