Above The Clouds With Fresh Bread.

27 Dec

The clouds have settled into the valleys of the mountains today. It’s as if the sky has moved closer, even though that’s not the case. Days like this make me realize that winter is approaching. Even though the temperature has increased through the day, the clouds tell a different story. The range in color from white to grey, while also varying in heaviness. The way they cling to the top of the mountains amazes me though. It’s almost like you can’t tell where the mountains end and the sky begins. When I was younger, I remember taking flights and loving when we finally got to the altitude that was over the clouds. We spend so much time beneath the clouds, living our day-to-day lives. And then we when take flights, we rise above the clouds and it’s like we’ve entered a different world. Above the clouds, it’s quieter. The sky stretches on forever, and there are no approaching storms to dampen our overall mood. The air feels lighter, more crisp. I long to live above the clouds. To have the ability to escape the chaos of reality and be immersed in a baby blue sky that stretches on forever, to be enveloped in a state of calm and pure wonder never experienced by others. It sounds magical, and as I look out at the view today, I dream of living above the clouds…surrounded by nothing but beauty and peacefulness.

Yesterday, I made my first loaf of bread using my grandmother’s bread machine. Anyone who knows me well knows that I LOVE bread. Therefore, having the chance to make a loaf was a pretty cool experience. My mom and I just looked up bread machine bread recipes. On kingarthurflour.com/recipes, my mom and I found one called “Bread Machine Bread: Easy As Can Be.” For my first time making bread in a bread machine, we wanted to first try something basic to see how it would come out. Therefore, I highly recommend this to those who want a “test loaf” if they’re just starting out using a bread machine.

For large ( 1 and a half lb. to 2 lb.) machine 

1 cup lukewarm water
1/3 cup lukewarm milk
3 tablespoons butter or margarine
3 3/4 cups King Arthur Unbleached All Purpose Flour
3 tablespoons sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
1 1/2 teaspoons active dry yeast

For small (1 lb.) machine

2/3 cup lukewarm water
1/4 cup lukewarm milk
2 tablespoons butter or margarine
2 1/2 cups King Arthur Unbleached All-Purpose Flour
5 teaspoons sugar
1 1/4 teaspoons salt
1 teaspoon active dry yeast

Directions: Put in liquid ingredients into bread machine first, then dry ingredients, and lastly the yeast (However, the order to put the ingredients in depends on your bread machine manufacturer, so be sure to double-check the order for your specific machine before beginning). *Do not mix ingredients (like the salt and sugar)* Finally, press Start on the bread machine. It should take about 3 hours for the bread to be ready.

My first loaf using the bread machine came out great, and I can’t wait to start making all different kinds of bread. If you make this “beginning” loaf, tell me how you like it!

 

 

 

4 Responses to “Above The Clouds With Fresh Bread.”

  1. Jersey's Fire December 28, 2011 at 2:11 am #

    Hey Blue ridge, thanks for liking my blog… P.S I love your post and it sounds like one day you will live above the clouds. Keep writing:)

  2. Katrina December 31, 2011 at 7:16 pm #

    I love fresh bread too, in fact, bread is my favorite part of any meal

Leave a Reply

