In The Blink Of An Eye.

26 Dec

“Some choices we live not only once but a thousand times over, remembering them for the rest of our lives.”

Some decisions can be extremely hard to make, while others seem to be made in the blink of an eye. I’ve come to realize that I make better decisions when I don’t give myself a long time to ruminate on them. The decision to transfer to Asheville was like that. One day my best friend told me she was leaving Wofford, and that same day I decided that I couldn’t be there without her. My switch to Asheville was one of the best decisions I’ve made, and it was made in the blink of an eye. However, I know that if I had given myself time to think about it, I would’ve given myself a hundred reasons to just stay put. But the thing is those reasons wouldn’t have been legitimate. They would have been pity reasons. Reasons I rattled off because I was too scared to admit that I was not happy with where I had chosen to first go to college.

Fear is like that for me many times, and I think other people experience it too. The ability of fear to hold you back from things you truly want to do. Or the ability of fear to keep you from realizing how you truly feel. That’s what is great about blink of an eye decisions. They’re made quick in order to not give you time to back out of things due to fear or the thought of failure. It’s a way to beat the voice in your head and make the decision before it has time to interject.

In 1933, FDR said that “The only thing we have to fear is fear itself.” Maybe he was right. Are you scared of the fear? I feel like in terms of decisions, many people are scared of the end result. They’re scared that they may not get the result they want, or worse, that they’ll fail altogether. Are we really that afraid of failure though? I remember hearing a saying that read: Fear of failure may never be a reason not to try something. Though I’m guilty of allowing the fear of failure to hold me back, I’ve recently begun to understand that you’ll never know the outcome of things if you don’t try.

Coupled with failure though is pure uncertainty. Many people are just afraid of not knowing how things will turn out. I’ve definitely found myself in this trap myself. But truthfully, we can’t predict life. We don’t know what we’ll face throughout our lives. So why should we back away just because we’re afraid of the uncertainty? Life is full of uncertainty. That’s a given. The trick is being able to realize that we can either view life as frightening or as a daily adventure. I don’t know about you, but I’d choose a daily adventure. Over and over.

6 Responses to “In The Blink Of An Eye.”

  1. Becca December 27, 2011 at 7:20 pm #

    This is so inspiring, especially from one so young πŸ™‚ I hope you always look for a daily adventure, and find many good ones!

  2. Stephen Zawodzinski December 28, 2011 at 9:37 pm #

    I’ve been inspired. : )

    This is an amazing post, just like the rest of the ones that I have read so far- your blog is definitely one to follow (by that, I mean it is definitely a mentor-type blog for me, a still-novice blogger)!

    PS- thanks for the follow on my blog- it’s an honor.

    • ameliaclaire92 December 28, 2011 at 9:40 pm #

      Thank you for the compliment. It means a lot. So glad that I could bring you some inspiration! πŸ™‚

  3. xoxothomas December 28, 2011 at 9:43 pm #

    I agree that some life choices should be made instantaneously. We often restrict ourselves from the best things in life due to fear. It requires a lot of reminders and courage to overcome such fears and to ‘view life as a daily adventure’. Inspiring post. πŸ™‚

  4. bluebee December 29, 2011 at 6:31 am #

    Fear is the most crippling thing of all – for you to have worked this out at such an early stage of your life is quite remarkable

    • ameliaclaire92 December 29, 2011 at 11:13 am #

      Thank you for such a high compliment. It means so much! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

