Finding Love Through Yoga.

24 Dec

“It’s not about finding the perfect person. It’s about finding someone who has imperfections, but is still perfect in your eyes.”

Last night, I spent the evening with one of my best friends. We watched a movie and then spent forever just talking. That’s what’s so special about best friends. You can spend hours talking about everything under the sun, and once you’re done, it’s as if a wave of relief has washed over you.

Anyway, we discussed my aggravation towards the emotion of love, and my friend gave me some sound advice. She mentioned the fact that if anyone in the world deserved to be loved from the inside out, it was me. Not the love you get from family or friends, but the complete whole-hearted love that is shared between two people. It got me thinking though. I mean, yes it’s something I want. Not admitting that would be a lie. But my friend pointed out that everyone, at some point in their life, is searching for it too. She said, “You’re not alone, and there’s someone in the world that wants to find you as much as you want to find them. That’s not to say you’ll find them tomorrow or even a year from now, but they’re out there.”

No one wants to be alone in life. It’s normal to desire companionship and love. It’s hard though, and that’s life. But one thing I heard recently is that you’ve got to love yourself before others can show you love in return. My friend last night told me that she thinks I love myself. But yet, I know there are times when I don’t. I feel defeated…and I just can’t. Sometimes, giving myself love is harder than breathing. However, last night, I realized that maybe that’s why yoga came into my life recently. Maybe yoga is supposed to help me realize that I can love all of my self, including the flaws. Maybe it’s meant to give me a heightened awareness to the world around me and ultimately an awareness of who I am.

So, for now, I’m content. I’ll put my energy into yoga and coming closer to being happy with who I am. I mean, we’ve all got to start somewhere right?

3 Responses to “Finding Love Through Yoga.”

  1. lapetiteveg December 28, 2011 at 12:10 pm #

    Loved this post (no pun intended)– so glad you found yoga, it has so many benefits, both mentally and physically. And you’re a great writer!

  2. Judy December 28, 2011 at 8:39 pm #

    Great post! Yoga can be the “solution” to so many quests…

Leave a Reply

