Second Book Review: Distant Shores by Kristin Hannah.

23 Dec

While in the airport yesterday and on the flight home, I continued to read my current book, Distant Shores by Kristin Hannah. I ended up finishing it last night so I thought I’d do my second book review.

Distant Shores is the story of Elizabeth “Birdie” Shore and Jackson Shore who married young, had 2 daughters, and made it through the struggles of their youth as they thought of their future. However, they begin to grow distant when their daughters leave for college and Jackson takes a dream job in New York City. Following the sudden death of her beloved father, Birdie is left wondering about the strength of her marriage and how long ago she gave up chasing after her own dreams, instead of putting the needs of others before hers. She is faced to confront her own unhappiness and is left to take a terrifying leap in order to rediscover who she truly is.

My favorite repeat line in this novel was this: “Life is short. If you don’t spread your wings, one day you will plumb forget how to fly.” 

That line has stuck with me. I feel like so many of us are sitting around waiting for our lives to start, only to realize later that we’re already in our life. I feel like it’s important to find the things in life that make us happy, make us have a desire to truly live. I’ve come to realize that these things don’t have to be big. They don’t have to be writing a bestselling novel or traveling the world. For Birdie, it was painting. Throughout the book, I envied the true joy she rediscovered she had for painting. It was like the fire in her had gone out, but with some sudden changes and a reevaluation of herself, the fire is ignited in her and the only way she can show it to the world is through painting. I think we all long for something like that. Something that makes us feel just a little more alive. When I was younger, I thought that fire for me was writing. And for a time, maybe it was. But that fire slowly died down. And maybe this blog is what is creating that fire in me again. But maybe not. Maybe it’s my new-found hobby of yoga. Or the joy I feel in helping other people with their problems.

Whatever it is that makes us feel more alive though…we owe it to ourselves to figure out what it is. Because, who knows, it could be the difference in a life of unhappiness and one of complete happiness, as in the case of Elizabeth Shore. We owe it to ourselves to at least try.

3 Responses to “Second Book Review: Distant Shores by Kristin Hannah.”

  1. Judy December 27, 2011 at 12:35 am #

    An excellent book review….I enjoyed reading it. I read Kristin Hannah’s “Best Friends”, about a year ago, and really liked the book. I’ll have to grab this one! Thanks for a good review!

  2. ameliaclaire92 December 27, 2011 at 5:34 pm #

    Thanks for your kind words. I haven’t read “Best Friends” yet. I’ll have to read it sometime soon.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Recently Read: 3 Book Reviews | It's Progression Not Perfection - July 27, 2012

    […] {source} […]

Leave a Reply

