Key West: Day 4.

21 Dec

Well, today was our last full day in Key West (since we fly back tomorrow), and it was a great last day.

We went kayaking in the mangroves, and it was so much fun. Mangroves are trees or shrubs that grow in muddy, tropical coastal swamps. Through the mangroves, there are channels through them (when they are clumps are mangroves). The main focus of the kayak trip was kayaking through the channels through the mangroves and having a guide point out different things like starfish and upside-down jelly fish. It was a fun adventure, and thankfully it wasn’t too hot so it was perfect weather. And the best part was that I put on tons of sunscreen so thankfully I didn’t get sunburnt.

Many years ago, my mom and I really got into kayaking, and I actually have my own kayak. Until today though, my mom and I hadn’t been in years. It was a reminder that I’m out of shape (well….not as in shape as I was when my mom and I went kayaking a lot). Anyway, I’m pretty sure I’m going to have to kayak more once it gets warmer because today reminds me that I’ve really missed kayaking.

Anyway, after the kayak trip, Heather and I relaxed by the pool and had some chill time before dinner. Our last dinner in Key West was a sushi place. It was super yummy!

I’m not looking forward to getting up early-ish tomorrow to head to the airport etc, but it’ll be really nice to be home!

2 Responses to “Key West: Day 4.”

  1. Judy December 28, 2011 at 8:42 pm #

    oooo always wanted to go to Key West….and kayak too….you make it sound wonderful! Thanks for sharing. (PS….it sure would be nice to leave the upper Mid-West at this time of year, too!! lol)

    • ameliaclaire92 December 28, 2011 at 8:44 pm #

      You should go if you ever get the chance. Totally worth it! (Even though the drive from Miami to Key West was slow-moving and seemed to take forever!)

Leave a Reply

