‘Tis The Season For Pleasure Reading.

17 Dec

“A room without books is like a body without a soul.”-Marcus Tullius Cicero

It’s officially day 4 of my Christmas Break, meaning that it’s time to get into reading mode. I’ve associated breaks from school as times for pleasure reading for as long as I can remember. I’ve attempted to read when school is in session, but more often that not, I spend more time reading than actually getting school work done, so I’ve had to save reading for holidays and other breaks. It definitely is a treat I always look forward to!

On Tuesday, I got Christmas presents from my best friend, Skidmore. They were 2 books that I had been wanting to read (Summer’s Child by Diane Chamberlain and Whistling In The Dark by Lesley Kagen). Yesterday, I started reading Summer’s Child by Diane Chamberlain, and I’m really liking it so far. Ever since I developed a love of reading as a kid, I’ve always been a fast reader. That can be a good thing or a bad thing. Mostly I think of it as being negative because most of the time I breeze through books so fast that they’re over before I can even blink.

Reading (and writing) has been a part of my life for as long as I can remember. Often they were what I used as escapes from reality. Through books, I imagined myself being the characters. Living an entirely different life with another personality and other experiences that are used to shape my life. I feel like, at one point or another, we all wish for a different life. Not a different life completely, but maybe just living in a different location or being brought up in a different way. It’s a part of human nature to wonder. Wonder how things would have been if you had or hadn’t met certain people or made certain decisions. But just like wanting, wondering can make you veer from your current path. More often than not, the veering isn’t always a good thing. It’s just important to remember that the life we were given is meant to be ours for a reason, and it’s easier to find happiness in what we do have than long for things that may never be.

What books have you started reading lately? 

Leave a Reply

