Carrying The Traditions.

14 Dec

It’s the first official day of my Christmas break, meaning that I get to start some of my personal holiday traditions! Here are some of them:

  • Decorating the tree with ornaments with my mom
  • Holiday cooking with my mom
  • The Salem Academy Christmas Concert (my high school’s annual Christmas concert where many alums come back to visit. I can’t wait to see everyone!)

Speaking of the Salem Christmas Concert, it’s around this time of year that I miss Salem and all the amazing people that I got to meet. I think of singing in Glee Club, the Salem tradition of the Love Feast (which consists of coffee and Moravian sugar cake, which tastes amazing!!), and just relishing in the amazing sisterhood that has been created through my attendance at Salem. The girls I graduated with and went to school with weren’t just my classmates; they’re my sisters, through and through. As well as being able to internally experience all those memories, the Christmas Concert is one of the only things that has the power to get me into the Christmas spirit in a matter of minutes. I mean, after hearing numerous Christmas songs, how can you not help but feel the love and support throughout the auditorium. It’s there…every year. Even if it’s not outwardly shown, you can feel it. You can feel it in the hugs people give each other after not seeing each other for years and the look in their eyes when they see Salem again. It just brings out all women’s good Salem memories. The friends they had, the memories they made with those friends, the traditions they’ll carry with them throughout their life…it all emerges.

This Friday is the Christmas Concert, and I can’t wait to experience all these emotions. I think part of my heart will always reside in Winston-Salem, in the hands of my Salem Sisters, and I couldn’t ask for anything better.

Do you have any special holiday traditions that you take part in every year? 

One Response to “Carrying The Traditions.”

  1. Errign December 15, 2011 at 10:57 am #

    We cut down our own tree in the National Forest every year (with a permit!) and decorate it solely with skiing paraphernalia. Also, my dad usually buys me a pair of skiing/winter related earrings (snowflakes, snowboards, etc)

Leave a Reply

