A Want.

12 Dec

Wanting. It can make you crazy…and sad…and every other emotion. It’s human nature to want, but what if just doesn’t stop. What if it pushes through, consequences be damned, and reaches the most vulnerable part of your soul. What then? How do you push a want like that away when it’s taken residence in your mind, your words, your actions, and your soul. Though you can focus your mind on other things….keep yourself busy…how do you stop your thoughts from drifting back to the one thing you feel like could make you whole. Not whole as in happiness. But whole as in..there is nothing in the entire world that could top this because I know that even through the bad crap that the world throws at me, at the end of the day, I have this to fall back on. To envelope me in an embrace so full of comfort and security that I’d chose this over facing reality any day. But what if this feeling could become a reality. What if you could live it, every second of every day, for the rest of your life. How do you push away a want like that if you’ll never know if it can be a reality unless you try? What then? Do you try, against all odds, to make it your dream…your want…your love…your home…your complete world. Or do you walk away…leaving it in the dust. Allowing the shadows to consume every last drop.

2 Responses to “A Want.”

  1. Sandra December 12, 2011 at 12:05 pm #

    awesome writing.
    that kind of deep WANT in my life was only realized when I accepted Jesus Christ and began to grow in intimacy with Him.
    thought a person would fulfill that desire……..wrong.
    thought a thing could fulfill that desire…..wrong.
    thought an awesome trip might fulfill that desire……wrong.
    thank you for making me remember.

  2. lattegirl December 13, 2011 at 2:09 pm #

    Wow – awesome. I wrote about that the other day as it dawned on me that God is the whole epitome of LOVE and I want love with every fibre in me. I totally get you both but I need reminding everyday. Thanks for the post x

Leave a Reply

