Strive To Reach Your Goals!

10 Dec

Happy Saturday everyone! After enjoying coffee and scones at a bakery with my mom and Malia this morning, Malia and I hit the road back to Asheville. Time away from campus was nice, but it’s good to be back too. Since I’m not too worried about my last final (Psychology) on Tuesday, I’ve been getting some basic things out of the way so I’m that much more ready to head home on Tuesday (ya know, washing clothes and sheets, vacuuming, taking out the trash, tidying up, etc).

I’ve always liked being clean and organized, and since finals have kept me pretty busy, I hadn’t really had time to clean up much. Thankfully, I’m getting a lot of that done today! The end of the semester (once finals are done) is always a huge relief. All academics are out of the way until January. I don’t have to think about homework or classes until I return to campus for next semester. I can go home and read a lot, spend time with my family, watch movies, hang out with friends, and just enjoy some down time before school cranks back up again.

As the end of the semester is coming to a close, it’s got me reflecting on my last few months in Asheville. Here are some goals that I set for my first year at UNC Asheville (bold ones were met, non-bold haven’t been met yet):

  • Be happier than I was at Wofford (DONE!)
  • Make good friends! (want to make more next semester obviously)
  • Develop a good variety of Asheville restaurants (Met about halfway. Restaurants so far: Mela, Salsa’s, The Lab, Over Easy Cafe, Urban Burrito, Nine Mile, Tod’s, YoLo and Asheville Pizza and Brewing)
  • Change one thing about myself (Have begun eating a little healthier. Favorites as of now: Jalapeno Pimento Cheese, flatbread crackers, black bean hummus (and black beans in general), spinach (either on pizza or in pasta), and granola mixes (all from GreenLife). Also changed my wardrobe some thanks to my friend Skidmore)
  • Get involved on campus (Planning to write for the campus newspaper next semester and maybe join a singing group)
  • Participate in campus events (WATCHING BASKETBALL!)
  • Get information about studying abroad in Ireland (Hoping to go this coming summer)
  • Get a new hobby (Restorative yoga!)
  • Become more socially comfortable (almost there!)
  • Go to the Orange Peel or The Grey Eagle to enjoy live music (planning to go see Marc Broussard at the Orange Peel in February)
  • Attempt to not get quite as attached to people as I have in the past (Getting there slowly)
  • Learn to cook a variety of dishes I enjoy (planning to work on that next semester since I’ll hopefully be living off campus next fall)

Overall, I feel really good about how things have gone in Asheville so far. I’m happy, I feel like I fit, and I know that there is a lot of things to look forward to next semester and the coming years. I’ve become conscious of things that I want to change about myself. It’s not easy, but sometimes change just takes time to adapt to.

What have been some of your goals the past few months? Have you met some of them? 

2 Responses to “Strive To Reach Your Goals!”

  1. sheelbeel December 10, 2011 at 4:49 pm #

    Aww setting goals is so important! And it looks like you have some really great ones. You have reminded me I need to get my New Year’s resolutions laid out – thanks!

  2. ailialana December 11, 2011 at 5:42 am #

    Love the diet changes…sounds delich! Enjoy home!

Leave a Reply

