Grab Hold Of Life.

8 Dec

It’s around this time of the year (as well as in the spring) that I get bitten by the travel bug. I itch to travel…to see a new place…to leave the place where I’m comfortable so that when I come back I have a greater appreciation for what I have.

The number one place I want to travel to (hopefully this coming summer) is Ireland. The desire to travel to Ireland began when I saw P.S. I Love You, but it continued when, following the movie, I looked up more and more information about Ireland. The dozens of pictures I’ve flipped through on the Internet are breathtaking, and if I’m that amazed at a place when I’m sitting in a dorm room in the United States, I seriously can’t imagine seeing that type of beauty in person. So, that really is why I want to go to Ireland. I want to see that beauty, feel it, be completely surrounded by it. I honestly can’t imagine spending a month of summer doing something else. I mean, yes, I would miss my family and friends, but I feel like so many people choose not to see different parts of the world because they’re scared, worried, not wanting to leave family/friends behind, don’t have the time, don’t want to go through the planning etc etc etc.

You can think of 1,000 reasons not to do something, but you only need one thing to do it….the determination, the desire, the drive…whatever you want to call it. But the thing is, you don’t really need a reason. If you really want to do something, DO IT. The only person holding back is you. Maybe you’re holding back out of fear or uncertainty. But the thing is…fear and uncertainty, they’re always going to be there. Like I mentioned before, there are always going to be reasons to not do something, but you’re the only one who stands in the way. Let the realm of possibility fill you up. Life is right in front of you. Instead of standing on the sidelines, grab a hold of life and run like hell. Yeah, it may be tough…and their may be difficulties in your decision to do something…but at the end, when you’ve traveled to that amazing place or seen incredible scenery or played your first full song on a guitar, imagine what that is going to feel like. Let that feeling fill you up.

Then again, instead of just imagining it, go LIVE it. Yes, not all people can be spontaneous and everyone has responsibilities, but not everyone has to travel. You can learn a new hobby you’ve always admired, you can read a book that you’ve always wanted to read, you can try tons of different foods until you know exactly which ones are your favorite. Whatever it is, grab a hold of it. Become immersed in it. How amazing is it that we don’t have to wait a single moment to immerse ourselves in a new experience, big or small.

What’s the next thing YOU want to experience in your life? 

6 Responses to “Grab Hold Of Life.”

  1. Mom December 8, 2011 at 10:45 am #

    Hula hooping. I saw some amazing women hula hooping at a drum circle. I want to learn how to do it like them.

    Also I want to go on a kayaking trip next year here: http://hiddencanyonkayak.com/photo-tour.htm . Check out the Rainbow Canyons Adventure and Labyrinth, Face Canyon and padre Bay Excursions!

  2. alifeunlikemine December 8, 2011 at 8:32 pm #

    Go and do it! I’ve gone around the world, and have had many, many haters, but live your life for you because you only have one shot at it! And it’s a short one : )

  3. ailialana December 8, 2011 at 8:40 pm #

    You gona visit me?

  4. ameliaclaire92 December 8, 2011 at 8:41 pm #

    Are you in Ireland ailialana?

  5. belasbrightideas December 9, 2011 at 5:24 pm #

    “You can think of 1,000 reasons not to do something, but you only need one thing to do it…”

    True, absolutely.

    I hope you get to go!

  6. Errign December 9, 2011 at 8:16 pm #

    Gooooooooo.

Leave a Reply

