The Sweetness Of Doing Nothing.

7 Dec

Today I was reminded of a quote from Eat Pray Love: “We call it “dolce far niente”, the sweetness of doing nothing.”

All over the world people are busy. People are working, or studying, or driving, or simply wandering. But who ever said that it’s wrong to just spend 10 minutes immersed in the feeling of doing nothing. Freeing your mind of all anger, worry, sadness…and just being. I definitely know from experience that I don’t give myself time to do nothing. I worry too much to even attempt that. But maybe that’s the key. Realizing that often times telling myself that I can’t do something makes me believe I can’t. So if I told myself I could do something…where would the opportunities end?

I think I came close to “the sweetness of doing nothing” when I went to restorative yoga last week. The focus was on relaxation, and through focusing completely on freeing my body and mind of struggles, worries, or angers, I achieved a sense of calm. Some may call it an “inner peace,” but for me it was just a calming effect. My mind quieted down, I forgot about my worries, and I experienced what it felt like to just lay on that mat and breathe, slowly feeling my body sink deeper and deeper into the floor. I’ve tried to achieve that same feeling while in my dorm room at school, but there are just too many distractions to even begin to simply focus on freeing my mind.

I feel like experiencing “the sweetness of doing nothing” is hard for a lot of people because they know that they have responsibilities and errands and to-do lists tacked to their fridge, and therefore don’t ever have the time to just sit and relax. Though I can definitely relate to that, I feel like the people who need to experience it most are those who simply say that they don’t have the time. We all are busy. We all live different lives that are connected to a variety of different responsibilities and daily duties. But what about finding time to just have some “me time” to calm yourself down.

Close your eyes. Breathe. Keep that focus. ….One minute later your phone rings. If you answered it, at least you had one simple experience of “the sweetness of doing nothing.”

2 Responses to “The Sweetness Of Doing Nothing.”

  1. savasana addict December 7, 2011 at 11:57 am #

    So true! Check on the tube/bus/train: People don’t even seem to be able anymore to ONLY do that. They have to read, write, listen to music, talk, call someone….. Crazy!

  2. belasbrightideas December 9, 2011 at 5:26 pm #

    I agree – we all need that restorative time.

    Then there is the excess of time to do nothing, which I’ve personally experienced these past 6 years living in Hawaii.

    I think variety is best – for me anyway! But yes, I certainly wouldn’t fare well at all without a certain dose of downtime.

Leave a Reply

