Tuesday’s Treasures.

6 Dec

“Yesterday I got lost in the circus, feelin’ like such a mess. And now I’m down, I’m just hangin’ on a corner. I can’t help but reminisce.”-Colors by Amos Lee

Sometimes the things you want are the things you just can’t seem to have. This concept is one that I have struggled with a lot over the last few years. But what I can’t seem to remember is that it’s not about dwelling on the things you don’t have, but being grateful for the things that you do.

5 things that I treasure every day:

1. My parents: Though we’ve had our share of arguments in the past and I had days as a teenager when I wanted to be as far away from them as possible, they’re my parents. They’re the most supportive, loving, understanding people I know. Their support and belief in me over the years has made me realize that there is always going to be someone there to catch me if I fall. They’ll help me back up and point out that it’s the struggles that have the ability to make us stronger. Though I understand that idea, it’s something that I need to remember. Yes, struggles are difficult, but they aren’t the end of the world. Even if today is really crappy, tomorrow is a new day.

2. My best friends: We’ve been through so much in the last few years. We’ve had our share of fights and tears, but through it all, we’ve supported each other and offered a shoulder when one of us needs the strength to stand. The special thing about true friends is that even when you don’t see each other very often, when you do see each other you’re able to pick up right where you left off. Like no distance has passed. I’ve had the opportunity to currently have 3 true best friends. They have helped me through all sorts of things, and I have no idea where I’d be without them. The laughs, the tears, the fights, the hugs, the deep conversations, the random trips. We’ve done it all and more. And I’m so happy to have such amazing friends in my life who are there for me no matter what, and they know I’m there for them too.

3. Books: Even though I haven’t been able to read for a while because of staying busy with school, I’m looking forward to Christmas Break so that I can read lots of books. I feel like books are special in that they allow readers to just escape reality. I know I’m not alone when I say that we’ve all had those days where we just want to escape for a little bit and not have to worry about anything. That’s what’s perfect about books. They allow us to escape things without even having to leave the comfort of home. I can’t wait for Christmas Break when I can curl up with a book and live vicariously through the characters in the book I’m reading. It’s such an amazing feeling.

4. Music: I can’t imagine a single day without music. It seems just impossible. Normally, I’m listening to music throughout my day (except when I’m in class, obviously), and the genre of music I listen to depends on my mood for the moment or what I’m doing. For instance, today when I was studying in the library, the artists I listened to were Peter Bradly Adams, Ingrid Michaelson, Regina Spektor, and Adele (i.e relatively quiet music that is easy to study to). Often times, music describes my mood better than words can, and I think that’s why I’m so drawn to it.

5. Hugs: For me, hugs are pretty much the most amazing thing. Whether it means giving a hug or receiving a hug, it embodies the wonderful emotion of friendship and love…all woven into one simple gesture. Above all though, I think the power of hugs is what is really important too. I mean, I’ve had days where I thought things wouldn’t stop going wrong, and then I get a hug from one of my friends, and it feels like the world is able to right itself, even just marginally. My really good friends know how much I love hugs, and so when I receive hugs from them it feels even more special. I don’t know how many of you have heard of the Free Hugs Campaign, but it was started by a man named Juan Mann, whose mission was to reach out and hug a stranger in order to brighten up their lives. The Campaign has made t-shirts that read “Free Hugs,” and a few months ago I bought one of them. I wore the t-shirt about a month ago and decided to then go spend the afternoon sitting out on my campus’ quad. By the end of the afternoon, around 20-30 people had come up to me and asked for a hug. Though I know that’s not a hug amount of people, it felt good to know that one of my hugs could’ve turned someone’s so-so day into a great one.

What treasures are you happy to have each day? 

Leave a Reply

