The Longer I Run.

4 Dec

I guess in this culture of ever-shortening attention spans, it’s good if a song can lift us out of the madness, even if only for a few minutes.-Peter Bradley Adams

Yesterday, I discovered a new artist, Peter Bradley Adams. I was listening to my Ingrid Michaelson Pandora station, and a song called “The Longer I Run” by Peter Bradley Adams came on. He’s one of those artists that you hear and you say, “Oh my gosh. Who is that singing?!” I’ve always been a fan of folk-pop music, so I guess that’s one of the reasons I was drawn to this musician. Also, he’s one of those artists that easy to listen to when doing other things (his relatively soft and quiet voice are nice background music).

The first song I heard by him yesterday, “The Longer I Run” is still my favorite by him at the moment. Here are the lyrics:

When that blood runs warm with the warm red wine
I miss the life that I left behind
And when I hear the sound of the blackbird’s cry
I know I left in the nick of time

Well this road I’m on’s gonna turn to sand
And leave me lost in a far-off land
So let me ride the wind ’till I don’t look back
And forget the life that I almost had

If I wander ’till I die
May I know whose hand I’m in
And if my home I’ll never find
Then let me live again

The longer I run then the less that I find
Selling my soul for a nickel and dime
Breaking my heart to keep singing these rhymes
And losing again

The longer I run then the less that I find
Selling my soul for a nickel and dime
Breaking my heart to keep singing these rhymes
And losing again

Tell my brother please not to look for me
I ain’t the man that I used to be
But if my saviour comes could you let him know
I’ve gone away for to save my soul

If I wander ’till I die
May I know whose hand I’m in
And if my home I’ll never find
Then let me live again

The longer I run then the less that I find
Selling my soul for a nickel and dime
Breaking my heart to keep singing these rhymes
And losing again

The longer I run then the less that I find
Selling my soul for a nickel and dime
Breaking my heart to keep singing these rhymes
And losing again

It’s a great song. You should definitely check it out on YouTube because it’s worth a listen.

Have you discovered any new music? 

2 Responses to “The Longer I Run.”

  1. Mom December 4, 2011 at 7:27 pm #

    I just listened to that song. LOVE it. Thanks for introducing me to someone new. How about a few CD’s with Amelia’s Newest Finds for my Christmas present? Pretty please with a cherry on top. Love you!

  2. ameliaclaire92 December 5, 2011 at 12:44 am #

    Done! 🙂

Leave a Reply

