Finals Hibernation and Survival.

3 Dec

Do not dwell in the past, do not dream of the future, concentrate the mind on the present moment.-Buddha. 

It’s that time of year again. Yep, my finals hibernation period. Bleh. My first final is on Thursday (Biology) and then I have a presentation on Friday and another final on Tuesday. But before I can focus on any of that I have to write an article that’s due Monday and put together my article portfolio (a portfolio of all the articles I’ve written this semester in my newswriting). Though I understand the purpose of the portfolio (to have pieces to show editors in the future when trying to get a job in journalism), I have to go through and edit all the articles, which could take a while. 

Anyway, the thought of finals always stresses me out. So I’ve thought of things that have helped me through finals week in the past: 

1. Take a break to dance/blast music. Even if it’s just for a song or two, it’ll get your energy back up to focus on work. 

2. Have a specific study space that’s free of distractions. Personally, I can study with music on, but I normally have to just listen to my iPod instead of my Itunes because then I don’t have the temptation of the internet. 

3. Keep snacks nearby. Healthy snacks help stimulate the brain. Avoid sweets that give a sugar jolt, but end up decreasing your energy in the long run. 

4. Have peppermints on hand. Studies have show that peppermints have been proven to enhance memory. 

5. Take breaks. Studying for numerous hours straight can decrease your ability to concentrate. Breaks are needed to become refreshed and recharged. 

6. Get plenty of rest. Yes, I know finals are stressful, but your body needs sleep. If you’re well-rested, you are more likely to preform better on your finals. Just remember, they’re just finals. Don’t let them stress you out to the point of not sleeping. 

What are some of your study habits to decrease stress during final exams? 

Leave a Reply

