A Jar Full Of Stars.

25 Nov

“Dark clouds may hang on me sometimes, but I’ll work it out.”-Dave Matthews Band.

Pacolet Falls, NC

Though I feel like many of my posts have been about finding happiness in the simple things, tonight it was true example of doing just that. I had a hard, but rewarding day of hiking to a nearby waterfall with my family. The waterfall was just as pretty as I remember it being as a kid, but the trek there and back was difficult for me. Yes, I did it, but I’m definitely feeling the effects of it now. However, that’s beside the point. Anyway, when my parents and I got back to our mountain house, I got out of the car. The first thing I did was look straight up to see a dark sky filled with stars. Since we live out in the woods and not many people live near us, it’s dark enough out to see the stars, and it honestly took my breath away. I felt like I could just reach up and grab some stars and put them in a jar. A jar full of stars all for me.

Yes, star-gazing is a very simple act, but it brought me happiness today. I had a hard day of hiking, and I feel like it was all worth it because at the end of a good day with my family I got to see a sky full of stars. No, stars are not foreign to me, but since I live in Asheville, I don’t see the stars much. Though I love Asheville, I didn’t realize how much the city lights can obscure your view of the stars. So, it was a nice treat tonight to gaze up and be able to just be filled with happiness.

What simple thing has brought you happiness today?

2 Responses to “A Jar Full Of Stars.”

  1. Sara November 26, 2011 at 7:45 am #

    I adore that scene; the twinkling little stars! 🙂

  2. ailialana November 28, 2011 at 4:59 am #

    That image took me back to my childhood. Didn’t we all want to catch the stars?

Leave a Reply

