Turkey, Pumpkin Pie, and The Good Things.

24 Nov

Be thankful for what you have; you’ll end up having more. If you concentrate on what you don’t have, you will never, ever have enough.-Oprah Winfrey.

It’s Thanksgiving (at least here in the US). It’s a time that many people simply associate with eating way too much food, which ends up sending them into a food coma afterwards. Though the thought of eating tons of yummy food is always appealing, I feel like many people don’t remember the true meaning of Thanksgiving, and I’m definitely included in the list a lot of the time.

I think what many of us forget is the importance of simply realizing what we have. Yes, throughout this year there have definitely been bumps in the road, but what about the triumphs, the happy memories, the new friendships, and the family that has been behind me ever step of the way? It’s important to remember the good things of the year, and it’s very important to hold on to those good things when the bad things try to bring you down.

My big good things: Transferring to Asheville, making some amazing new friends, re-discovering my love for writing through blogging, developing a new wardrobe thanks to my friend Skidmore, gaining confidence, understanding that no one stands between me and my ability to reach my dreams, and simply realizing that I’ve found home here in the mountains. Some smaller good things: hugs, food, basketball, coffee, photography, cold weather, music, tv, books, anything pumpkin-flavored (the pumpkin pies are done and the smell is amazing), mangoes (haven’t had them in forever, but they’re amazing), spicy food (and now I want Indian food, haha). Yeah, okay, I’ve got food on the brain, but who doesn’t?

What are some of your good things?

3 Responses to “Turkey, Pumpkin Pie, and The Good Things.”

  1. Tucky November 24, 2011 at 2:07 pm #

    Good friends, of course. 🙂

  2. ailialana November 24, 2011 at 5:21 pm #

    Hope you are having a lovely Thanksgiving. It sounds a bit like Christmas… All that food….’tis sweet to hear good things. Some of my good things include standing up to a manipulater, making raspberry and chocolate ice cream with the kids, standing down as chairperson and claiming back my life to have fun! Yeah it has been a good year !

    • ameliaclaire92 November 25, 2011 at 10:46 pm #

      I did have a lovely Thanksgiving. I love your good things, especially making raspberry and chocolate ice cream with your kids! Yum!

Leave a Reply

